BTCPay Server vs BitPay: Control, Costs and Bank Money

Choose BTCPay Server if you want Bitcoin receipts into your own wallet and have someone responsible for running checkout. Choose BitPay if your business qualifies for an account and needs managed processing with an approved bank route. BTCPay charges nothing for its software, but hosting and staff still cost money. BitPay charges for processing and has other costs to confirm. New EEA, UK and Australian applications are paused, so eligibility can settle the choice before you compare fees.

You're choosing between payment software your team runs and a processing service your business has to qualify for. Whichever you pick, you still need to work out who fixes an unpaid order and when your suppliers get paid.

How we reviewed this

We read selected public BTCPay documents (hosting, wallet, deployment, refunds, subscriptions, packages and support) and BitPay's pricing, country, payment-state and settlement guidance on 15 October 2026. The BitPay Acceptance Terms are from our 11 October reading and weren't refreshed for this comparison. We haven't installed either checkout or tested payments, security, support or bank arrival. Examples are hypothetical; our methodology explains the preliminary scores.

Which should your business choose?

Choose BTCPay when receiving Bitcoin directly is worth running the payment system yourself, and BitPay when an approved managed service and bank route suit you better. BTCPay's software creates invoices with no subscription or transaction charge, but it doesn't come with anyone to maintain it.

With BitPay Acceptance, payments arrive through BitPay's own flow before it credits and settles your account. Its terms describe BitPay as a payment agent and rule out a general crypto-custody service, but that doesn't put you in control of the incoming coins. Its personal Wallet and Send products are different purchases.

BTCPay Server
57/100
2 – 5
BitPay
73/100
10.0
Cost
2.5
1.0
Fiat cash-out
10.0
0.0
Licence
10.0
3.5
Coins and networks
8.0
10.0
Integrations and API
10.0
8.6
Features
10.0
3.0
Support and reliability
6.0
10.0
Onboarding
6.0

The bars score listed features only, not how well you'd run BTCPay or whether you'd be approved. A few numbers need care. BTCPay's historical count of fourteen mixed assets and sixteen platform names isn't a list of enabled payment methods or maintained packages, and BitPay's nineteen metadata groups aren't what every customer sees at checkout. BTCPay's no-KYC and no-reserve labels cover the software, not hosts or partners. A financial licence and an MIT software licence tell you different things.

The money rows assume your business is eligible for both and compare BTCPay's software charge with BitPay's processing fee, nothing more. They leave out hosting and staff, network and Lightning costs, conversion and bank charges, and BitPay's application fee and high-risk pricing. A cost nobody has priced isn't zero, and the gap between the rows isn't what you'd save.

 
BTCPay Server
BitPay
Score57/100 · #1273/100 · #3
Payment fee0%2% + $0.25
Cost on $10k/month$0.00$225
Pays out to bankNot statedAUD, CAD, CHF, EUR, GBP, MXN, NZD, USD
Stablecoin networksUSDT: Liquid, TRC20 (plugin)USDC: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana · USDT: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Solana · PYUSD: Ethereum · GUSD: Ethereum · USDP: Ethereum · EURC: Ethereum · BUSD: Ethereum, Polygon
Coins1419
CustodyNon-custodialCustodial
Merchant KYCNoneRequired
Rolling reservenoneNot stated
LicenceNot statedMoney transmitter (NMLS ID) (1496848); Virtual Currency Business Activity licence (NYDFS)
PluginsWooCommerce, Shopify, PrestaShop, Magento, BigCommerce, OdooWooCommerce, Shopify, Magento 2, WHMCS, Wix, BigCommerce
Legal entity countryNot statedUnited States
FoundedNot stated2011

For the details of each offer, read our BTCPay review and BitPay review.

Can your business use either option?

BitPay's account availability may decide this before anything else. On 15 October 2026 its merchant-country guidance accepted US and Canadian applications and paused new EEA, UK and Australian onboarding, even where payouts in your currency are listed. State and product restrictions apply too, and its lists aren't exhaustive.

BitPay asks for business documents, an active website, owner identification and receiving details, and bank settlement needs an account in the business's name. Verification limits and pricing bands are different things: qualifying for a low rate doesn't raise your payment limit.

Running BTCPay yourself has no central merchant application, but having the software doesn't approve your business or a financial service. Hosts, conversion providers and banks can run their own checks and activity rules. This is general information, not legal advice.

Who controls the funds and the checkout?

With BTCPay, control depends on who can spend. We compare your own server receiving Bitcoin on-chain, with spending approved by a signer outside the server. BTCPay's wallet guide treats approving a spend as a different step from receiving and tracking payments.

ResponsibilitySelf-operated BTCPay with external signerApproved BitPay Acceptance
Running the systemSomeone on your side maintains the server and connected servicesBitPay runs processing. Your team looks after the shop connection.
Spending or releasing fundsYour external signer approves wallet spendingBitPay settles eligible payments under the account terms
Changing payment destinationsServer or store administrators, and anyone who compromises the server, can change checkout instructionsAccount and integration controls decide payment instructions and settlement settings
Converting and reaching the bankA conversion partner and a receiving bank, each approving you on their ownBitPay's conversion and settlement, once your account is approved
Reconciling orders and refundsYou, whoever runs the server, and the signerYou match account records to orders and work through BitPay's refund flow
Handling incidents and updatesWhoever runs your server, plus any support you've arrangedBitPay for its service; whoever maintains your store handles the shop and integration.

Keeping the key outside doesn't stop a compromised server from redirecting future payments. BTCPay's hosting guide warns that altered receiving instructions can divert new payments, including on a self-hosted server, and that a host-held hot wallet gives the host access to spending keys.

Lightning is a different decision. A host's shared internal node receives into the host's wallet, and connecting your own node or another wallet changes that. Incoming capacity, routing and service charges, and reliability matter either way.

How much will the payment setup cost?

BTCPay's software charge is zero. BitPay's first standard band is 2% plus $0.25 per paid invoice below $500,000 cumulative monthly volume. Higher standard bands lower the percentage, and higher-risk pricing isn't quoted.

BitPay's Acceptance Terms, effective 1 April 2026 (we read them on 11 October), also require a non-refundable application fee that isn't priced, even if you withdraw or are denied. They allow settlement delays for investigations, disputes or legal requirements, and may carry unpriced costs for small closing balances and unclaimed funds from payment exceptions. BTCPay's deployment FAQ says the software is free but hosting isn't, and that it has to run continuously to keep payment verification current.

The calculator compares BTCPay's software charge with BitPay's processing fee only, before the other costs listed above. Annual totals assume twelve identical months, and BitPay's band is applied to the whole month rather than replaying tier crossings invoice by invoice.

Fee calculator
Average order
BitPay: estimated fees
$225per month· $2,700 a year · 2.25%
Estimated fees: $225 a month more than BTCPay Server
  • BTCPay Server
    $0
    0.00%
  • BitPay
    $225
    2.25%

Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.

For a fair comparison, price in whoever runs the server, covers updates and absences, checks backups and handles refunds and conversion, plus any host or specialist and the bank partner's deductions. Our BitPay fee guide and calculator guide help with that.

Do customers pay extra network charges?

They can. The buyer's sending fee is one cost and your processing fee is another. BTCPay also has an optional invoice network-cost charge to cover moving the received funds later, on top of the buyer's miner fee.

BitPay's Network Cost article says Bitcoin only, yet the same page includes BCH calculation text, so ask BitPay which rule applies to your invoices. BitPay leaves the charge off only when its estimate is below both $0.01 and 0.05% of the invoice.

When can sales become bank money?

BitPay describes bank routes for approved accounts. We couldn't confirm any native bank service in BTCPay. A dollar-priced Bitcoin invoice is still a request for crypto, not dollars in your bank.

BitPay issues eligible settlements on business days. Its developer guide gives a $20 minimum for US ACH and two business days after issue. Non-US dollar wires have a $10,000 minimum, and the guide gives no arrival time for them. A ledger credit, a transfer being issued and money reaching your bank are three different events.

BitPay's own pages disagree on the European minimums: developer guidance says €500 and £500, while settlement help says €100 and £1,000. Which applies depends on your approved account, and the new-account pauses still apply.

For BTCPay, the Bringin integration describes its own account and a partner balance. Its usage text includes on-chain payments, but its flow says on-chain is coming soon, and neither shows that money reached a bank. Bringin Business advertises invitation access and corporate verification, while Connect has its own waitlist, tariff and partner custody conditions. Don't assume one product's pricing or control claims apply to the other.

Bringin's Terms were unavailable earlier and we haven't refreshed them, so country and activity approval, holds, limits, deductions and bank arrival are all unconfirmed. Bank coverage is no guarantee you're allowed to offer your service.

  1. 01

    Confirm receipt

    Match the payment and accepted invoice state to the order.

  2. 02

    Check availability

    Identify the wallet or ledger balance and any release, review or minimum conditions.

  3. 03

    Reconcile bank credit

    Note the amount that reached your bank after deductions.

When does an order count as paid?

Go by the product's verified payment state and the confirmation rule you've agreed, not a browser return or a buyer's screenshot. BTCPay's user guide describes Processing until the configured on-chain confirmation requirement is met, and Settled after.

Its invoice guide also covers Expired, Invalid, partial, excess, late and manually marked exceptions. A full late payment can stay Expired until someone acts on it, and a payment marked paid by hand may never have confirmed. For how invoice states are handled, go by your installed version, not older Stores FAQ wording.

On BitPay, a paid status means a payment was broadcast, without a merchant guarantee. The confirmed status you configure governs when you fulfil an order, and complete means BitPay has credited your account. Its usual descriptions of partial and excess refunds stay subject to claim and contract conditions. Ask your developer how delayed or repeated notifications avoid missed or duplicate fulfilment.

Who handles refunds and payment mistakes?

Either way, the customer's problem is yours; only the payment work differs. BTCPay creates a claim for the customer's destination, then needs review, signing and sending, and completes after confirmation. Decide if you're refunding the original value, the current rate or a crypto amount before you promise a coin amount.

BitPay's refund reference lists preview, created, pending and success as different states, and defaults to the merchant paying network fees, with a buyer-pays option. BitPay's Inc. terms, which we read on 11 October, default to deducting the fee from the shopper unless instructed otherwise, while its B.V. terms charge the merchant, so the entity you contract with decides which applies. Prefunding, amount choice and account terms matter too. Avoid promising the original processing fee back, guaranteed recovery or a bank-style reversal.

Which fits these five business situations?

Your situationStarting pointThe catch
Approved ordinary US or Canadian shop that needs money in the bankBitPayYou still need the full quote, account limits, bank minimum and arrival time. BTCPay would need a bank partner too.
Lawful EEA Bitcoin business with someone to run BTCPay and an external signerLook at BTCPayNew BitPay onboarding is paused. The software still needs lawful use, maintenance and any partner approvals.
Small-ticket seller considering LightningCompare the Lightning options on offerCapacity and support differ between your own node and a host's. Neither promises zero routing cost or that every payment goes through.
Membership or SaaS serviceCompare the renewal workPrepaid credits and customer-paid bills need different reminders, access rules and ways of handling missed payments.
WooCommerce or Shopify team with little time to maintain thingsStart with a managed service or a maintainer who's accountableThe plugin, the payment and refund flow, and who handles problems matter more than the platform name.

If neither fits, look at the BTCPay alternatives or the broader gateway comparison, and run the processor selection checklist before you negotiate price.

Can either collect subscriptions automatically?

BTCPay supports reminders that the customer pays, and renewals deducted from prepaid credits. Neither product's docs describe pulling fresh funds from a customer's outside wallet. Email needs configuring, your application has to enforce access, and activating early, before confirmations, can fail and need someone to step in.

BitPay schedules emailed bills; the customer opens a link and pays an invoice. For a membership, you still have to decide who deals with used-up credit, unpaid bills, cancellations and refunds. A recurring flag doesn't hand those decisions to the provider or show that customers' payment permissions would carry over to another one.

Who maintains the store and helps when it fails?

Someone has to own the shop connection, even with managed processing. BTCPay's WordPress listing shows package 2.8.5, tested up to WordPress 7.1.3. That's the listing's own metadata, not our compatibility testing.

BTCPay's Shopify guide sets up a custom manual payment method, then a payment button on the Thank-you page. It needs the Shopify plan, server and host-enabled features it specifies, and refund claims have app version and email requirements. A created order isn't a paid order.

BTCPay offers community help and possibly paid specialists, but guarantees neither. Its security-reporting policy excludes customised deployments and plugins that don't carry its listed author tag, and its volunteer response targets aren't a service guarantee or a security audit. Ask who covers incidents and absences on either setup. Older reviews that mix several products say little about how often merchants hit failures.

Pros
  • BTCPay: you control the software and can sign spending outside the server
  • BTCPay: the software itself costs nothing
  • BitPay: managed acceptance and bank routes it publishes, subject to approval
  • Both: billing and refund workflows are described in public docs
Cons
  • BTCPay: running it takes work, and partner costs need a budget
  • BTCPay: a host or shared Lightning node shifts control of funds away from you
  • BitPay: new EEA, UK and Australian onboarding is paused, and accounts face checks
  • BitPay: an application fee, extra charges, and conflicting bank and refund details

How should you move between them?

Wait until you're approved and have reviewed the checkout on your own store, and decide who handles every unfinished obligation. BTCPay's older wording about a BitPay-compatible connection doesn't make current order notifications interchangeable or migration automatic.

Save your order, fee, refund and receiving records first. List open invoices, claims, subscriber credits, cancellations and customer permissions, and agree who keeps whatever access they need. Credentials, recurring agreements and refunds don't carry over just because you copy a plugin setting.

If another managed processor belongs on your shortlist, see our BitPay versus CoinPayments comparison.

What does the evidence show?

These are public documents, not a tested installation or a full quote. The BitPay terms row below is from the earlier 11 October reading.

Show the evidence log (8 checks)+
CheckedWhat we checkedFindingSource
2026-10-15Software and hostingThe software is free, but hosting and keeping it running are your job.BTCPay deployment FAQ
2026-10-15Fund controlA signer outside the server, a host-held hot wallet and redirected payments carry different risks.BTCPay hosting guide
2026-10-15Account availabilityBitPay takes US and Canadian applications. New EEA, UK and Australian onboarding is paused.BitPay country help
2026-10-11Acceptance Terms (read 11 October)BitPay acts as a payment agent, the application fee isn't priced, and refund and hold terms differ by entity.BitPay Acceptance Terms
2026-10-15Bank routeA US ACH transfer being issued isn't the same as it arriving, and the euro and pound minimums conflict between BitPay's pages.BitPay developer settlement
2026-10-15RenewalsWith reminders or prepaid credits, your own application has to manage access.BTCPay subscriptions
2026-10-15Shopify flowA manual payment method and a Thank-you page payment button, with refund version and email requirements.BTCPay Shopify V2
2026-10-15Bank partnerBringin Business (by invitation) and Bringin Connect (waitlist) are different offers.Bringin Business

BTCPay vs BitPay FAQ

Is BTCPay cheaper than BitPay?

Its software charge is lower, but the total bill may not be. BTCPay needs hosting, maintenance, staff and any conversion or bank service you add, and BitPay's fee leaves out other costs too. Compare both on the same orders and bank destination before claiming a saving.

Can I use BTCPay without running my own server?

You can look at a third-party host, but that adds another agreement and shifts control: the host runs the server and decides which features you get. A host-held hot wallet or shared Lightning node isn't the same as keeping your signing key outside. Ask about spending access, future checkout instructions and support.

Can a new EU or UK merchant open BitPay?

Not at the moment, going by BitPay's country guidance we read on 15 October 2026, which pauses new EEA, UK and Australian merchant onboarding. A listed settlement currency or regulatory entry doesn't lift that pause, and whether existing accounts are affected is a different question. Running BTCPay yourself is another option, subject to any host, conversion provider and bank conditions.

Does either give me dollars or euros straight away?

No. A fiat-priced BTCPay invoice asks for crypto, and reaching a bank needs another service. BitPay credits your account and settles eligible proceeds, but minimums and other conditions apply before anything reaches your bank, and its euro and pound minimums conflict across documents. Budget supplier bills from money you can spend.

Does an external BTCPay wallet make checkout safe?

It keeps spending approval away from the server, but that doesn't make the whole checkout secure. A compromised server can still change where future payments go, and hosted hot wallets or shared Lightning carry other risks. Neither our score nor the public documentation is a security test of your installation.

Can either automatically debit a subscription wallet?

Neither product's docs describe debiting a customer's wallet. BTCPay supports payment reminders and renewals from prepaid credit, and BitPay sends scheduled bills that the customer pays. With either, you still settle how reminders, cancellations, refunds and missed payments work.

Is a refund request proof the customer was repaid?

No. With BTCPay, the customer's claim comes first, then approval, signing, sending and confirmation. BitPay also treats requested and pending refunds as different from success. Record the outgoing reference against the order, and avoid promising automatic recovery, the original processing fee back, or a fixed coin amount or arrival date.

Which is easier for a small WooCommerce or Shopify team?

Start with who will maintain your store and handle an incident. Both publish integration options, but a listed platform doesn't mean it's compatible, and BTCPay's Shopify payment and refund flow has specific requirements. An approved managed processor can cut the infrastructure work, but the shop still needs someone responsible for order records and customer support.
Frequently asked questions

Change log: 15 October 2026, first version of this comparison.

Sources

27

Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.

  1. BTCPay General FAQ · Checked 2026-10-15
  2. BTCPay third-party hosting and future payment destinations · Checked 2026-10-15
  3. BTCPay Lightning capacity and shared-node control · Checked 2026-10-15
  4. BitPay standard processing tiers · Checked 2026-10-15
  5. BTCPay user guide and invoice states · Checked 2026-10-15
  6. BTCPay deployment costs and continuous operation · Checked 2026-10-15
  7. BTCPay wallet and external signing · Checked 2026-10-15
  8. BTCPay refund claims and completion · Checked 2026-10-15
  9. BTCPay subscriptions and prepaid credits · Checked 2026-10-15
  10. BTCPay community and paid support · Checked 2026-10-15
  11. WordPress: BTCPay WooCommerce package · Checked 2026-10-15
  12. BTCPay Shopify V2 payment and refund requirements · Checked 2026-10-15
  13. BTCPay security reporting scope · Checked 2026-10-15
  14. BTCPay optional invoice network cost and settings · Checked 2026-10-15
  15. BitPay merchant onboarding countries · Checked 2026-10-15
  16. BitPay invoice states and configured confirmation · Checked 2026-10-15
  17. BitPay shopper Network Cost and conflicting BCH wording · Checked 2026-10-15
  18. BitPay scheduled customer-paid bills · Checked 2026-10-15
  19. BitPay developer settlement routes and minimums · Checked 2026-10-15
  20. BitPay settlement help and conflicting euro/pound floors · Checked 2026-10-15
  21. BitPay refund states, amounts and fee-payer setting · Checked 2026-10-15
  22. BitPay business, owner and customer verification · Checked 2026-10-15
  23. BTCPay Bringin integration and its on-chain wording · Checked 2026-10-15
  24. Bringin Business invitation and corporate verification · Checked 2026-10-15
  25. Bringin Connect waitlist and conditions · Checked 2026-10-15
  26. BitPay Acceptance Terms (read 11 October) · Checked 2026-10-11
  27. BTCPay invoice guide · Checked 2026-10-15