BitPay Fees Explained (2026): What You'll Actually Pay

BitPay takes 2% plus 25 cents from each payment while you sell under $500,000 a month, so a $10,000 month of $100 orders costs about $225. The percentage falls to 1.5% and then 1% as your volume grows, but the 25 cents stays. Your final bill can also include wire fees on some bank payouts, a refund miner fee and higher pricing for high-risk industries. BitPay doesn't publish a separate conversion markup.

How we reviewed this

We rechecked BitPay's public pricing, merchant terms and help articles on 11 October 2026. The examples use published rates. We didn't open an account or make payments. The large-volume examples assume the lower tier covers the whole month.

How much does BitPay charge per payment?

BitPay takes 2% of each payment plus a flat 25 cents while your sales are under $500,000 a month. A $100 order costs you $2.25, and the fee comes out of your balance before BitPay pays you, so what reaches your bank is already net.

Your monthly crypto salesFee per paymentOn a $100 order
Under $500,0002% + $0.25$2.25
$500,000 to $999,9991.5% + $0.25$1.75
$1,000,000 and up1% + $0.25$1.25

BitPay says it measures the tier by the cumulative value of your month-to-date paid invoices and moves you automatically. The UK and EU pricing page shows the same table, in US dollars and cents.

The help centre's 1–2% plus 25 cents describes the same tier range. BitPay's terms let it change processing fees with at least 30 days' notice.

Every BitPay fee we found, in one table

CostAmountWho paysWhere it's published
Processing, under $500k a month2% + $0.25 per paid invoiceYou, deducted from your balancePricing page
Processing, $500k to $999,9991.5% + $0.25YouPricing page
Processing, $1M and up1% + $0.25YouPricing page
High-risk industries"Higher fees", no rate givenYouPricing page
Application feeRequired and non-refundable. No amount publishedYou, even if approval is denied or you withdrawMerchant terms §4.1
Monthly or minimum-volume feeNone foundn/aNot listed in the public sources we read
Network CostVariable. Bitcoin invoices only. BitPay says it charges estimates above one centYour customerSupport article
Customer's own miner feeSet by the blockchainYour customerMerchant terms
Settlement to a bankNo fee published. BitPay reserves the right to charge wire fees, except USD to a US bank and EUR within SEPAYouMerchant terms
Crypto settlementBitPay says it covers the miner feeBitPaySupport article
Conversion markupNo percentage listedBuilt into the quoted rate, if appliedExchange-rate page
Refund miner feeNetwork cost of sending the refund; sources disagree on who bears itYou or your customerTerms, developer docs, support
Dormancy or administrative charge on unclaimed fundsNot quantifiedYouMerchant terms
Payouts to recipients (BitPay Send)1% of the payout, with a $5 minimum payout amountYouDeveloper docs
ChargebacksNo fee found. BitPay says there are no fraud chargebacksn/aPricing page, merchant terms

What will BitPay cost on a $10,000 month?

About $225 in fees if your orders average $100: 2% is $200, and 100 orders at 25 cents add $25. That's 2.25% of your sales, and it climbs to 3.25% if your average order is $20.

These are fee estimates, not complete bills. They leave out the application fee, conversion margins BitPay doesn't publish, withdrawal fees and any custom quote. Set the sliders to your own monthly sales and typical order. The calculator uses B2BinPay's 0.40% rate for coins (its stablecoin rate is 0.50%, which is $50 on this month) and leaves out B2BinPay's per-network minimum commissions, so ask whether they apply to you.

Fee calculator
Average order
BitPay: estimated fees
$225per month· $2,700 a year · 2.25%
Estimated fees: $185 a month more than B2BinPay
  • B2BinPay
    $40
    0.40%
  • Confirmo
    $80
    0.80%
  • CoinGate
    $100
    1.00%
  • BitPay
    $225
    2.25%

Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.

Why do small orders cost more than you'd think?

Because the 25 cents is flat, and flat charges weigh most on cheap baskets. On a $200 order it adds 0.13 percentage points. On a $10 order it adds 2.5.

BitPay's line curves up for small orders. The chart counts processing fees only, so it leaves out B2BinPay's minimum commissions and other extras.

Effective fee by order size on a $10,000 month
BitPayCoinGateB2BinPayConfirmo
Effective fee · $10,000/mo
BitPay's monthly cost on $10,000 of sales, by average order size
$10 orders (1,000 payments)
450
$20 orders (500 payments)
325
$50 orders (200 payments)
250
$100 orders (100 payments)
225
$200 orders (50 payments)
212.5

The $237.50 gap between the top and bottom bar comes entirely from the fixed fee. Try your own numbers in the calculator above, or look at CoinGate's fees.

Who pays the network fee on a BitPay payment?

Your customer pays it. Two charges can land on the customer, and neither comes out of your balance.

  1. The . Your customer pays the blockchain fee for sending their own payment.
  2. BitPay's Network Cost. This is BitPay's charge for the miner fees it spends gathering many incoming payments together before converting them. It applies to Bitcoin invoices only, and BitPay says it isn't charged on Bitcoin Cash, Ethereum or ERC-20 tokens, or XRP. BitPay says it charges estimated costs above one cent and omits the charge when the estimate is below both one cent and 0.05% of the invoice. It moves with network congestion.
  1. 01

    Customer sees the invoice

    A $100 Bitcoin invoice can show an extra Network Cost line.

  2. 02

    Customer pays

    They also cover their wallet's miner fee. You get credit for the $100.

  3. 03

    BitPay takes its fee

    2% + 25 cents, so $2.25 comes off your balance.

  4. 04

    Net balance settles

    $97.75 sits in your balance until it passes your currency's minimum.

You don't pay either charge, but your shopper sees a higher total, and small Bitcoin orders can become poor value for them.

Which BitPay fees aren't on the pricing page?

Several, mostly in the merchant terms and help centre. Some amounts aren't published, so you can't safely assume they'll be small.

Conversion costs you can't calculate in advance. For US dollar and euro conversions, BitPay builds its rates from the bids on exchanges it approves, then adjusts for volatility and market depth so it can honour the rate for 15 minutes. It doesn't publish a markup percentage, so the processing fee may not be the whole cost of converting. Compare the quoted rate with the bank proceeds you expect.

Wire fees. BitPay's terms reserve the right to charge wire fees, except when it settles US dollars to a US bank or euros within the SEPA zone. The amount isn't published, so what applies depends on your currency and bank.

Small closing balances and unclaimed funds. Closing below the transfer minimum can bring transfer costs. Unclaimed payment-exception funds can attract dormancy or administrative charges with no amount given. That isn't a published monthly account fee. Accounts with no paid transaction for more than twelve months may be suspended.

Partner pricing and refund reserves. A platform partner may set your fees under its own agreement. You can also request a refund reserve: money set aside to cover refunds, not a new fee. Ask how much would remain available for your next bank payout.

High-risk pricing. The pricing page says higher fees apply to high-risk industries and gives no figure. If that's you, compare high-risk merchant-account options first.

What does BitPay charge to get paid out?

Nothing is published for or , but wire fees are possible elsewhere, and your balance must pass a minimum before anything moves. BitPay settles automatically every business day, once your balance is above the minimum for your currency.

Settlement currencyMinimum balance in developer docsListed time after issueWire fees under the terms
USD by ACH (US bank)$202 business daysExempt
USD by wire (non-US bank)$10,000Wire arrival time not listedMay be charged
EUR by SEPA€5001 business dayExempt
GBP or CHF£500 or 500 CHF2 business daysMay be charged
AUD or NZD2,500 each2 business daysMay be charged
CAD or MXN5,000 CAD or 1,500 MXN2 business daysMay be charged
BTC, ETH, USDC or USDT0.01 BTC, 0.2 ETH, 200 tokensDailyNot applicable

The table follows BitPay's developer docs. Its settlement help article currently gives different minimums for euros (€100) and pounds (£1,000), and also lists South African rand. Check the minimum in your own dashboard before relying on either figure.

A small balance can wait for later sales. If a crypto settlement can't go through, BitPay says it fixes the balance's value in dollars or euros at the rate from when settlement would otherwise have happened.

Take a shop outside the US that sells $10,000 a month and wants dollars. It needs a $10,000 balance before a wire goes out, but after BitPay's $225 fee that month leaves $9,775, so the first wire waits for the next month's sales.

If you choose crypto settlement, BitPay says it covers the miner fees of sending it. You can also split settlement between one currency and up to five cryptocurrencies. If a payout stalls, BitPay's help centre lists four usual causes: a balance below the minimum, a recent settings change, a currency mismatch, or wrong bank details.

What do BitPay payouts to suppliers or staff cost?

BitPay charges 1% on payouts, and you fund them first. The developer docs say your ledger needs to hold the payout plus BitPay's 1% fee, and that you may have to wire fiat to BitPay to fill it. Each payout instruction has a $5 minimum payout amount, and the payout reference gives 14:00 and 21:00 UTC as example batch cut-offs. A $1,000 contractor payout costs $10 before any bank funding charge.

What do refunds and wrong payments cost?

Refunds carry a blockchain miner fee, and BitPay's own pages disagree about who covers it.

  • The merchant terms say that for BitPay, Inc. merchants, the miner fee is deducted from the amount refunded to the shopper unless you instruct otherwise. For BitPay B.V. merchants, it's deducted from your ledger as a line of its own.
  • The developer docs say the merchant pays by default, with a setting that lets the buyer pay instead.
  • The fees help article says refund miner fees come out of the merchant's ledger.

Refunds are based on the original order value in fiat, converted at the rate when the customer claims the refund, and your balance has to be able to cover them. The customer's claim link works for three days, and BitPay then aims to send the refund within one to two business days. We found no page saying the 2% + 25 cents is returned when you refund, so plan as if it isn't.

Payment errors can leave your customer with a refund fee. An underpayment normally isn't credited to you. For an overpayment, the order amount is credited once the payment is complete and only the excess is returned, with the refund miner fee coming off the customer's refund. A payment to an expired invoice is handled case by case by BitPay support.

How does BitPay compare with other processors on cost?

On standard published processing rates, BitPay costs more than the alternatives below, before withdrawal charges and conversion costs. At $10,000 of $100 orders:

  • BitPay: $225 (2% + $0.25).
  • CoinGate: $100 (1% on the Standard plan).
  • B2BinPay: $40 for coins, or $50 for stablecoins and tokens (0.40% and 0.50% under $1M a month).

The extras change that comparison. CoinGate has free crypto and SEPA withdrawals with a €50 minimum, but Standard SWIFT withdrawals cost 0.50% with a €50 minimum fee, and manual conversions cost 1%. Its commercial policy also adds an unpublished risk margin to payment quotes. B2BinPay's SEPA withdrawal fee is 0.50% + €5, with a €5,000 minimum.

Confirmo's Irish invoice rate gives $80 on $10,000 of sales at 0.8%, if the account qualifies for that schedule. Recipient payouts cost 0.5% plus network costs, own settlement is a 0% service before network or bank costs, and abandoned accounts pay EUR 10 monthly. The replacement Irish schedule takes effect on 1 November 2026. Posted Terms already list USD 100 plus network costs for recovered mispayments. Which numbers apply depends on the entity, agreement and tariff version, so don't assume a universal current fee or free earlier recovery.

Eligibility comes first. B2BinPay's El Salvador policy restricts US and Canadian residents and companies. An exemption footer conflicts with that, though it doesn't mean your shop can use the low rate.

 
BitPay
CoinGate
B2BinPay
Confirmo
Score73/100 · #381/100 · #162/100 · #972/100 · #4
Payment fee2% + $0.251%0.4%0.8%
Cost on $10k/month$225$100$40.00$80.00
Pays out to bankAUD, CAD, CHF, EUR, GBP, MXN, NZD, USDEUR, GBP, USDEUR, USDEUR
Stablecoin networksUSDC: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana · USDT: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Solana · PYUSD: Ethereum · GUSD: Ethereum · USDP: Ethereum · EURC: Ethereum · BUSD: Ethereum, PolygonUSDC: Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Optimism · EURC: EthereumUSDT: Not stated · USDC: Not statedUSDT: Ethereum, TRON, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain · USDC: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain · USDG: Not stated
Coins1912Not stated10
CustodyCustodialCustodialCustodialCustodial
Merchant KYCRequiredRequiredRequiredRequired
Rolling reserveNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
LicenceMoney transmitter (NMLS ID) (1496848); Virtual Currency Business Activity licence (NYDFS)Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCA), Bank of Lithuania; licence No. 2, authorization code LB002323 (LB002323); Payment institution, Bank of Lithuania (EMT operations); licence No. 60, authorization code LB002324 (LB002324)Digital Asset Service Provider (PSAD), B2BINPAY EL SALVADOR S.A. DE C.V. (PSAD-0064); Bitcoin Service Provider (PSB), B2BINPAY EL SALVADOR S.A. DE C.V.Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCAR), Confirmo Limited (C570624); Payment Institution (PSD2), Confirmo Limited — electronic-money-token transfer scope (C570624)
PluginsWooCommerce, Shopify, Magento 2, WHMCS, Wix, BigCommerceWooCommerce, Wix, Magento 2, WHMCS, OpenCart, PrestaShopWooCommerceWooCommerce, Shopify
Legal entity countryUnited StatesLithuaniaNot statedIreland
Founded20112014Not stated2014

BitPay is cheaper than Stripe's standard US domestic-card rate on this example. Stripe's US pricing lists 2.9% + 30 cents for domestic cards, which is $3.20 on a $100 order against BitPay's $2.25. That makes it about 70% of the card fee, so the saving is under half. For more options, see our BitPay alternatives. BitPay's position is #14 on the lowest-fees list and #3 overall.

How can you pay BitPay less?

Start with your order size, settlement route and quoted tier. BitPay publishes no other discount.

  1. Ask about custom pricing. The pricing page has a "Contact Sales" link for inquiries alongside the standard plan. If you're near $500,000 a month or in a restricted industry, ask what you'd be quoted, and get it in an email.
  2. Reach the next tier, and ask when it applies. At $100 orders, crossing $500,000 cuts the fee from $2.25 to $1.75 per payment.
  3. Lift your average order. Bundles or a minimum basket for crypto checkout shrink the share of the flat fee. Keep bundles useful; losing an order costs more than 25 cents.
  4. Decide who covers refund costs. Your developer can set the buyer to pay the miner fee. Check your account terms and explain any deduction before the sale, since the saving may not be worth an unhappy customer.
  5. Pick a settlement route without wire fees. US ACH and euro SEPA are the two routes the terms exempt. Settling in crypto avoids the bank leg.
  6. Match your ledger and settlement currencies. A mismatch is one of the four reasons BitPay lists for a stalled payout.
  7. Compare quotes. Ask two or three of the providers above for a written quote on your own volume and order size.

Coin choice changes what your customers pay more than what you pay. Bitcoin invoices can carry the Network Cost, and a cheaper network lowers their miner fee, but your 2% + 25 cents stays the same either way.

BitPay fees FAQ

How much does BitPay charge merchants?

BitPay charges 2% plus 25 cents per paid invoice while monthly sales are under $500,000. That falls to 1.5% plus 25 cents from $500,000 and 1% plus 25 cents from $1 million. On $10,000 of $100 orders, you'd pay about $225. High-risk industries pay more, but BitPay doesn't say how much.

Does BitPay charge a monthly or setup fee?

We found no standard monthly or minimum-volume fee in the public sources we read. The merchant terms do require a non-refundable application fee when you open an account, including if approval is denied or you withdraw, and no amount is given, so ask before applying. Processing and other charges come on top.

Who pays BitPay's Network Cost?

Your customer does, on Bitcoin invoices only. BitPay charges estimates above one cent and omits them when they're below both one cent and 0.05% of the invoice price. You don't pay it, or your customer's miner fee.

Does BitPay charge to settle to my bank?

BitPay publishes no settlement fee, but its terms reserve the right to charge wire fees, except for US dollars to a US bank and euros within SEPA, and no amount is given. You'll also need a minimum balance first, from $20 for US ACH up to $10,000 for a non-US dollar wire.

How much does it cost to refund a customer on BitPay?

BitPay doesn't list a refund fee beyond the blockchain miner fee, and its own pages disagree on who pays that. Your developer can choose a setting that charges the buyer instead. We found no statement that the original processing fee is returned on a refund.

Is BitPay cheaper than accepting credit cards?

On published rates, yes, though not by half. Stripe's US pricing lists 2.9% plus 30 cents for domestic cards, or $3.20 on a $100 order, against BitPay's $2.25. Your own card rate depends on your processor.

How much do BitPay payouts cost?

BitPay's developer docs show a 1% fee on payouts, so a $1,000 payout costs $10. You may have to wire fiat to BitPay first to cover the payout plus the fee. The minimum payout amount is $5 per instruction.

Which BitPay alternative has the lowest fees?

On published rates, B2BinPay is lowest of the four we compare, at 0.40% for coins and 0.50% for stablecoins under $1M a month, though it has a 5,000 minimum for fiat withdrawals. CoinGate charges 1% and Confirmo Limited's Irish schedule lists 0.8%, subject to account approval. None of these figures includes every possible extra cost.
Frequently asked questions

For licences, payouts and user reports, read our BitPay review. To see how the options line up, try the best crypto payment gateways, the BitPay vs Coinbase Commerce comparison or our CoinGate review. Rates can change on 30 days' notice, so confirm BitPay's current rate before you sign.

Change log: 14 October 2026, B2BinPay policy and estimate limits clarified. 11 October 2026, processing-only estimates, payment-error refunds, settlement-source conflicts and current versus upcoming Confirmo fees clarified. 5 October 2026, first published.

Sources

31

Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.

  1. Confirmo Irish Terms, updated 2 October 2026; selected recovery/account clauses read 15 October · Checked 2026-10-15
  2. BitPay pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
  3. BitPay pricing (UK and EU page) · Checked 2026-10-11
  4. BitPay blog: tiered pricing announcement · Checked 2026-10-11
  5. BitPay for Business · Checked 2026-10-11
  6. BitPay Terms of Use: merchant acceptance · Checked 2026-10-11
  7. BitPay exchange rates · Checked 2026-10-11
  8. BitPay Support: What fees will I pay? · Checked 2026-10-11
  9. BitPay Support: Network Cost fee · Checked 2026-10-11
  10. BitPay Support: When do settlements occur? · Checked 2026-10-11
  11. BitPay Support: Options for settlement · Checked 2026-10-11
  12. BitPay Support: Why is my balance not being settled? · Checked 2026-10-11
  13. BitPay Support: Refund a fully paid invoice · Checked 2026-10-11
  14. BitPay Support: Claim refunds for paid invoices · Checked 2026-10-11
  15. BitPay Support: Refund processing time · Checked 2026-10-11
  16. BitPay Support: Underpaid and overpaid invoices · Checked 2026-10-11
  17. BitPay Support: Why invoices expire after 15 minutes · Checked 2026-10-11
  18. BitPay Support: Payment sent to an expired invoice · Checked 2026-10-11
  19. BitPay developer docs: Banking and settlement · Checked 2026-10-11
  20. BitPay developer docs: Refunds · Checked 2026-10-11
  21. BitPay developer docs: Invoice states · Checked 2026-10-11
  22. BitPay developer docs: Payouts · Checked 2026-10-11
  23. BitPay developer docs: Sending crypto payouts · Checked 2026-10-11
  24. Stripe pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
  25. CoinGate pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
  26. B2BINPAY fees · Checked 2026-10-11
  27. Confirmo Limited upcoming fee schedule (effective 1 November 2026) · Checked 2026-10-11
  28. Confirmo Limited fee schedule (effective 30 December 2025) · Checked 2026-10-11
  29. CoinGate commercial policy · Checked 2026-10-11
  30. B2BinPay about: service restrictions · Checked 2026-10-11
  31. B2BinPay AML policy and conflicting regional footer · Checked 2026-10-14