High-Risk Merchant Account Denied? Your Options, Including Crypto
A denied high-risk merchant account leaves you three places to look: another card acquirer, bank payments and crypto. Start with why you were refused, especially if your old account was terminated and a MATCH listing was filed. Judge fees and reserve cash on their own terms, since a reserve is money you can't spend yet. Crypto removes the card chargeback, but customers need wallets and gateways run their own approval checks. It won't replace your licences, refund duties or sanctions obligations, and the cheapest gateway may not take your business.
We read the primary sources below on 11 October 2026: card-network rules, official guidance, provider terms and fee schedules. The examples use published rates plus assumptions we label. We didn't apply for accounts or test payments. Only a provider can tell you whether it would approve you and what your final bill would be. This is general information, not legal advice.
Why do card processors call a business high risk?
They expect more disputes, fraud or losses. Stripe's explainer lists industry, processing history, international sales, high-value orders and card-not-present transactions (online orders, for example) among the factors. A legal business can still fall outside a processor's appetite.[1]
A chargeback matters because you can be paid before the buyer disputes the sale. If you can't cover the reversal, the processor takes the loss, and the longer delivery takes, the longer that risk lasts.
| Reason for refusal | What to prepare for the next application |
|---|---|
| Industry outside the provider's policy | A clear description of your products, customers and required permissions |
| Too many disputes or fraud reports | Processing statements and evidence of changes to billing, delivery or support |
| Little financial history | Current accounts, realistic sales forecasts and proof you can cover refunds |
| A previous termination | The closure notice, listing details if applicable and an honest explanation |
| Sales pattern the provider doesn't understand | Average order size, delivery time, customer locations and expected volume |
What should you do after a denial or termination?
Find out why, and where your existing money stands, before you apply again. A declined application is one problem. A closed live account is another, because it can leave refunds, disputed sales and reserves unsettled.
An acquirer is the bank behind your card account. If a reseller set it up, ask who the acquirer is and who holds any reserve.
- 01
Save the decision
Keep the refusal or closure notice, your contract, recent processing statements and support emails. The specific reason matters more than the high-risk label.
- 02
Sort out the old account
Ask whether a terminated-merchant listing was filed, who filed it, and what conditions release held funds. Outstanding refunds still need a way to be paid.
- 03
Check what your customers will use
Find out whether they need cards, would pay a bank invoice or already hold crypto. That affects revenue as much as the fee rate does.
- 04
Apply with the full business picture
Tell the provider about your owners, products, markets and processing history. Send licences where they're required, and ask for approval of what you plan to sell.
Don't rebuild checkout on a sales rep's say-so. Wait until what was approved matches what you'll launch, and you've read the payout and termination terms.
Can a MATCH listing be removed early?
Sometimes, but only in narrow cases. MATCH is Mastercard's screening database for certain terminated merchants. Under its Merchant Edition dated 4 August 2026, entries are purged automatically after five years (§11.10). Section 11.13 allows removal of an erroneous entry reported by the authorised user, or a reason-code-12 entry after restored PCI compliance is confirmed.[2]
PCI DSS is the card-data security standard. For reason 12, removal needs the acquirer's attestation and validation from a Mastercard-certified forensic examiner. If the acquirer can't or won't submit that request, you can submit it yourself through the same process. Even then, removal isn't guaranteed.
The manual lets acquirers sign up listed merchants after their own review.
Visa's VMSS is a different screening system. Visa says a possible match needs identity verification, contact with the listing member and further investigation before an acceptance decision. Its public service page gives no retention period, so we don't give one either.[3]
For either listing, ask for the reason and the supporting documents. Changing your business name won't fix the underlying problem.
Does Visa's 1.5% threshold apply to every merchant?
No. Visa's fact sheet combines ratios with counts, regions and the acquirer's portfolio status. Its excessive-merchant table applies when the acquirer is neither Above Standard nor Excessive.[4]
The VAMP ratio counts fraud reports plus disputes against settled card-not-present Visa transactions, with some exclusions. From 1 April 2026, the table's Asia-Pacific, Canada, EU and US threshold is at least 1.5% and at least 1,500 monthly fraud and dispute reports. Other regions have different thresholds.
Your processor can set its own limits. If it warns you about a ratio, ask which programme and measurement it means, and look for programme charges in your contract.
Which payment option fits your business?
Keep cards if they bring in enough sales to justify the quote, and add bank or crypto payments where customers will use them. You can run more than one approved method.
| Your situation | What to look at | What it depends on |
|---|---|---|
| Customers expect cards | Specialist card acquirer | Approval, affordable fees and enough working cash for the reserve |
| Your activity needs extra review | Mainstream processor with explicit approval | The category must be eligible, not prohibited |
| B2B invoices or large baskets | Bank transfer or pay-by-bank provider | Customers willing to use it, accounts the provider supports, and its return rules |
| Customers already hold crypto | Hosted crypto gateway alongside other methods | Country, industry, network and payout approval |
| You can operate your own payment infrastructure | Self-hosted BTCPay Server | Someone who can run it, wallet security and a way to convert to bank money you're happy with |
| Account closed with a listing | Acquirer review plus other approved methods | Honest disclosure and a plan for old liabilities |
Stripe's public policy splits prohibited businesses from categories that need extra review. Its stablecoin option doesn't get around the account's business restrictions.[5]
Bank payments skip the card chargeback process, but some can still be reversed. Nacha's ACH rules cover returns of unauthorised debits and return-rate monitoring. Other bank rails have their own fraud and recovery rules, so ask the provider how a payment can be returned and when it counts funds as available.[6]
How much cash will a high-risk card account take?
You need two budgets: fees you spend and cash the acquirer holds. The OCC's merchant-processing handbook describes reserves funded by a lump sum or withheld sales proceeds to limit the bank's risk. It doesn't prescribe a standard merchant price or reserve percentage.[7]
A rolling reserve cuts the cash you can spend. It isn't a fee, though losses or charges may later be taken out of it. Ask whether the reserve rolls, has a cap, can be increased and survives termination.
Get an itemised card quote: the percentage, the fixed charge per transaction, monthly and setup fees, dispute and refund charges, currency conversion and the cost of leaving the contract. For crypto, add network costs, conversion margins, withdrawal and bank charges, application or account fees, and exceptional-payment costs. Unknown amounts stay unknown.
The two card rates below are hypothetical, not market ranges or offers. Each bar is the fee alone on $10,000 of sales in 100 orders. CoinGate's 1% leaves out its quote margin, which it doesn't price. B2BinPay's leaves out per-network minimum commissions, and Confirmo's leaves out settlement extras.
CoinGate publishes 1% on Standard and a 50 EUR minimum withdrawal amount for crypto or SEPA; the minimum is what you need on hand to withdraw, not a €50 fee.[8] Its commercial policy adds a risk margin to the merchant fee and gives no figure for it.[9]
The calculator lets you change volume and order size. It shows the fee only, and its BitPay line uses standard pricing, so BitPay's high-risk pricing and mandatory application fee aren't in it.
B2BinPayLowest estimate$40$40 0.40%
Confirmo$80$80 0.80%
CoinGate$100$100 1.00%
BitPay$225$225 2.25%
Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.
Ask each finalist how much bank credit you'd see on the same basket and payout schedule. A cheaper checkout rate can still leave less usable money after conversion and withdrawal.
Will crypto save money if customers stop buying?
Only if what you save in fees outweighs the sales you lose. Customers without a funded wallet may abandon checkout, so don't drop a working method just because another rate is lower.
If you can, start with a small slice of sales on an approved provider. Track paid orders, abandoned invoices, support time and money that reaches your bank before you expand. The processor selection guide lists the questions to ask a provider.
What does crypto solve, and what remains your responsibility?
It takes the card reversal process out of the crypto payment itself. Stripe says its stablecoin payments don't produce disputes that turn into chargebacks, and refunds go back as stablecoins to the original wallet.[28] That doesn't make every payment safe or every sale final in law.
Fraud can still involve stolen access, deceptive buyers or goods you fail to deliver, and a hosted provider can pause your account for checks. Keeping proceeds in crypto adds price risk, plus the risk of whoever holds them. A stablecoin's price is only a target, and nothing guarantees its value or your access to funds.
Refunds need a plan too. BitPay refunds the original fiat value in crypto, at the exchange rate when the customer claims it. The customer supplies a refund address and you need enough ledger balance, so the amount of coin returned can differ from the original payment.[23]
Refund law doesn't change with the payment method. UK government guidance, checked on 11 October 2026, requires refunds for faulty or misdescribed items. The rules for your products and customers may differ, so even a crypto-only checkout should explain refunds clearly.[29]
- Crypto sales don't carry card chargebacks
- Gives customers who already hold crypto another way to pay
- Published rates give you a first cost comparison
- Self-hosted software can send payments directly to your wallet
- Customers may need a wallet, the right coin and the right network
- Providers can still run business checks, restrict industries and hold payouts
- Refunds, fraud, licences, sanctions and tax are still your job
- Conversion, network and bank costs can add up to more than the headline fee
- You either hold the crypto yourself or pick someone to hold it
Which crypto gateways are worth investigating?
CoinGate, B2BinPay and Confirmo publish prices you can compare, and BTCPay Server is the self-hosted option. They work in different ways, and none of the hosted ones is guaranteed to accept your high-risk business.
CoinGate's terms exclude unauthorised gambling, unlicensed financial services and adult services that lack required age verification or legal compliance. Its supported-country list includes the UK, Canada and Australia, but not the US.[10][11] For the wider tradeoffs, see our CoinGate review and fee guide.
B2BinPay publishes first-tier rates of 0.40% for coins and 0.50% for stablecoins and tokens, up to $1 million in monthly volume. Minimum commissions on each chain can push the real percentage higher, and these estimates leave them out, so ask which apply to you. Its EUR and USD bank withdrawal minimums are 5,000 units. Its T+1 label refers to settlement, not to the money arriving in your bank.[12]
B2BinPay can hold a payment for review without setting a deadline. If it returns funds because of that review, its terms let it charge the costs of returning them plus US$50–100 per returned transaction, depending on client risk. That's a different charge from ordinary payout pricing.[13]
Your industry missing from B2BinPay's prohibited list isn't approval. B2BinPay's El Salvador policy restricts US and Canadian residents and companies, while its footer still mentions EU, UK and US exemptions. The two conflict, which leaves your eligibility open.[33]
Confirmo requires merchants to hold whatever licences their activity needs, and points to a different policy for restricted categories.[17] Its active Irish fee schedule, updated 19 December 2025 and effective 30 December, charges 0.8% for invoices. Merchant settlement has no service fee, but network and third-party bank charges still apply.[15]
Confirmo's replacement schedule takes effect on 1 November 2026, which was still ahead when we checked. If you launch after that date, read the new schedule.[16] Its commercial policy describes how settlement works but doesn't promise every account a bank-credit time.
BTCPay Server charges no software fee, and when you self-host it, payments go straight to your wallet. Hosting, maintenance, wallet security, network costs and any conversion service still cost money. Fiat conversion is available through plugins, and the service you pick will have its own checks and charges.[19]
CoinGate | B2BinPay | Confirmo | BTCPay Server | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 81/100 · #1 | 62/100 · #9 | 72/100 · #4 | 57/100 · #12 |
| Payment fee | 1% | 0.4% | 0.8% | 0% |
| Cost on $10k/month | $100 | $40.00 | $80.00 | $0.00 |
| Pays out to bank | EUR, GBP, USD | EUR, USD | EUR | Not stated |
| Stablecoin networks | USDC: Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Optimism · EURC: Ethereum | USDT: Not stated · USDC: Not stated | USDT: Ethereum, TRON, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain · USDC: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, BNB Smart Chain · USDG: Not stated | USDT: Liquid, TRC20 (plugin) |
| Coins | 12 | Not stated | 10 | 14 |
| Custody | Custodial | Custodial | Custodial | Non-custodial |
| Merchant KYC | Required | Required | Required | None |
| Rolling reserve | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | none |
| Licence | Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCA), Bank of Lithuania; licence No. 2, authorization code LB002323 (LB002323); Payment institution, Bank of Lithuania (EMT operations); licence No. 60, authorization code LB002324 (LB002324) | Digital Asset Service Provider (PSAD), B2BINPAY EL SALVADOR S.A. DE C.V. (PSAD-0064); Bitcoin Service Provider (PSB), B2BINPAY EL SALVADOR S.A. DE C.V. | Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCAR), Confirmo Limited (C570624); Payment Institution (PSD2), Confirmo Limited — electronic-money-token transfer scope (C570624) | Not stated |
| Plugins | WooCommerce, Wix, Magento 2, WHMCS, OpenCart, PrestaShop | WooCommerce | WooCommerce, Shopify | WooCommerce, Shopify, PrestaShop, Magento, BigCommerce, Odoo |
| Legal entity country | Lithuania | Not stated | Ireland | Not stated |
| Founded | 2014 | Not stated | 2014 | Not stated |
If you run a VPN or hosting business, our VPN and hosting guide goes through the questions that matter for you.
Which other gateways need an eligibility check first?
BitPay's country rules, NOWPayments' contract exclusions and Paykilla's individual quote can rule out a choice before price matters.
BitPay accepts US and Canadian merchant applications, with some extra restrictions. Its support page, updated 3 October 2026, says onboarding is paused for new EEA, UK and Australian merchants.[22] The standard first tier is 2% plus $0.25 below $500,000 in monthly volume, but the pricing page says high-risk industries pay higher fees.[20] Its terms require a non-refundable application fee even if the application is refused or withdrawn, and they don't give the amount.[21] For the standard product, see our BitPay review and fees article.
NOWPayments' 31 August 2026 FD Transfers terms exclude a lot of people: residents or citizens of the EU, UK, US or UAE, and anyone located or resident in Russia. Its bank option is a EUR withdrawal through third-party Custody, which may involve partner checks and needs a USDT-on-TRON balance. Other assets have to be converted, and conversion is charged. You'd still have to confirm whether you could open an account, which bank rail it uses, what the minimum is, what you'd finally pay and how long it takes.[24] Before you rely on a quote, read the NOWPayments review for the conflicts in its fee information.
Paykilla publicly advertises rates from 0.5%, set per merchant, and zero withdrawal service fees. Its bank option is a custom integration, and its currencies and timing aren't confirmed.[25] Its public AML policy excludes US persons and prohibits unlicensed gambling and financial services, and its terms say the charges are set in the merchant agreement.[26] That's enough to start an inquiry, though it promises neither a flat price nor industry approval.
The UK's 8 October 2026 Russia sanctions notice, entry RUS3755 for Xeltox Enterprises, links Cryptomus and Heleket. We don't recommend new onboarding with either.[31] OFSI guidance covers UK activity, UK nationals and UK-established entities abroad, and it covers cryptoassets. It stops short of a global ban.[32] If you already have funds with either, get advice from your bank and a sanctions specialist before moving them.
What should you confirm before signing or changing checkout?
Before integrating, get three things settled: approval, payouts you can spend and a way out. A low rate is no use if the provider can't serve your owners, handle your products or pay into an account your bank accepts.
Expect KYB. Paykilla's public policy shows the paperwork to expect: incorporation and recent register documents, ownership details, ID for directors and owners, websites, licences and source-of-funds information. It also allows enhanced checks and freezes, and other providers will ask for much the same.
| Question | Evidence to keep |
|---|---|
| Is my business approved? | Confirmation that covers your company, owners, industry, website and customer countries |
| What will I pay? | Rate, fixed fees, margins, network charges, minimum commissions and exceptional costs |
| When is cash available? | Reserve and hold rules, withdrawal minimums, payout schedule and expected bank-credit time |
| Who is responsible for funds? | Which company you contract with, who holds the funds, and whether the service is permitted where you are |
| How do refunds work? | How refunds are sent, the balance you need, what customer details are required and what it costs |
| How do I leave? | Notice, termination fees, funds still held, records and access to past transactions |
When you move, export invoices and payment records, track payouts still in transit and settle refunds before closing the old account. Test the new checkout and order-status updates with approved testing tools, then launch to a limited audience and watch it. Where your contracts allow it, keep a fallback method.
For US tax records, IRS guidance (checked on 11 October 2026) says to record digital-asset receipts and their fair market value in dollars, and that assets received for goods or services are business income. Give your accountant records of later conversions and disposals too.[30]
Once approval and cash flow look workable, the fee calculator gives you a cost estimate.
Frequently asked questions
What is a high-risk merchant account?
Can another card processor approve me after a denial?
How long does a MATCH listing last?
Is a rolling reserve another processing fee?
Can I accept crypto after my card account is closed?
Does crypto eliminate refunds and fraud?
Which crypto gateway is cheapest for a high-risk merchant?
Can I use bank payments instead of cards?
Will a crypto gateway check my MATCH listing?
Change log: 14 October 2026, clarified B2BinPay policy and estimate limits. 11 October 2026, rechecked the primary sources, corrected the MATCH removal and Visa details, and updated gateway eligibility and sanctions advice. 6 October 2026, first published.
Sources
33
Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.
- Stripe: high-risk merchant accounts explained · Checked 2026-10-11
- Mastercard Security Rules and Procedures, Merchant Edition, 4 August 2026 · Checked 2026-10-11
- Visa Merchant Screening Service · Checked 2026-10-11
- Visa Acquirer Monitoring Program official fact sheet · Checked 2026-10-11
- Stripe prohibited and restricted businesses · Checked 2026-10-11
- Nacha: ACH network risk and enforcement topics · Checked 2026-10-11
- OCC Merchant Processing handbook: reserves and underwriting · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate commercial policy: quote margin · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate general terms and conditions · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate supported countries · Checked 2026-10-11
- B2BinPay fees and minimum commissions · Checked 2026-10-11
- B2BinPay terms of use · Checked 2026-10-11
- B2BinPay regional service disclaimer · Checked 2026-10-11
- Confirmo Limited active Irish fee schedule, 19 December 2025 · Checked 2026-10-11
- Confirmo Limited upcoming fee schedule, effective 1 November 2026 · Checked 2026-10-11
- Confirmo Limited terms and conditions · Checked 2026-10-11
- Confirmo Limited commercial policy · Checked 2026-10-11
- BTCPay Server general FAQ · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay terms of use · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay supported merchant countries, updated 3 October 2026 · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay: refund a fully paid invoice · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments FD Transfers terms, updated 31 August 2026 · Checked 2026-10-11
- Paykilla public homepage and FAQ · Checked 2026-10-11
- Paykilla public AML policy · Checked 2026-10-11
- Paykilla public terms and conditions · Checked 2026-10-11
- Stripe stablecoin payment documentation · Checked 2026-10-11
- UK government: accepting returns and giving refunds · Checked 2026-10-11
- IRS digital assets guidance · Checked 2026-10-11
- FCDO Russia sanctions notice, 8 October 2026, RUS3755 · Checked 2026-10-11
- OFSI UK financial sanctions general guidance · Checked 2026-10-11
- B2BinPay AML policy and conflicting regional footer · Checked 2026-10-14

