BTCPay Server Alternatives: Hosted and Self-Hosted
Consider BitPay or CoinGate if you want a managed processor and an approved bank payout. Consider Bitcart if you want different software and can still run it. If hardware is the problem, renting a server may let you keep BTCPay. The right choice depends on who will maintain checkout, who receives the money and what your customers use. Staying with BTCPay makes sense when someone on your side can run it and you want to receive Bitcoin directly.
We read public software, hosting, pricing, eligibility and contract documents on 15 October 2026. BitPay's merchant agreement comes from our earlier 11 October reading, and we haven't looked at it since. We haven't installed these products, opened accounts, sent payments or measured security, uptime, support or bank arrival. Examples are hypothetical. Our methodology explains the preliminary global scores.
When is it worth leaving BTCPay Server?
Leave when running payments takes work your business can't reliably do, or when you need a financial service BTCPay doesn't offer. Switching brands won't help if the real problem is that nobody owns the job.
BTCPay lets you run your own invoicing, including direct Bitcoin receipts to an external wallet. Using it doesn't get you a bank account or anyone's approval of your business activity, and turning crypto into fiat takes other services.[1] Our BTCPay Server review covers the product itself; this page is about what to change.
Start with three questions. Do you want another company to process payments? Different software? Or do you like BTCPay but want someone else to supply the hardware? Each answer leads to a different purchase.
Support is a good test. BTCPay relies on contributors and community channels, plus paid help you arrange yourself, and the project doesn't guarantee that help.[24] If you need a contract that says who answers when something breaks, that alone is a reason to compare services, even when the software works well.
| Your situation | Sensible starting point | What still needs an answer |
|---|---|---|
| Eligible US or Canadian shop wants managed Bitcoin checkout | BitPay Acceptance | Your business, your state, customer checks and the receiving bank |
| Listed-country company wants managed checkout and euro proceeds | CoinGate merchant processing | Company, owners, what you sell, customer countries and where the money lands |
| Bitcoin shop has someone to run it but wants to retire hardware | BTCPay on rented infrastructure | Who maintains it and who covers when they're away |
| You want another self-hosted product | Bitcart | Core or paid extension, the day-to-day work and a full quote |
| You like BTCPay and its current workflow | Keep it | Whether support and cover for absences are properly paid for |
The processor selection guide turns those answers into a shortlist. Hold every candidate to the same requirements, or you'll end up comparing a server rental with someone else's full payment service.
Which managed processors should you consider?
BitPay and CoinGate can take over processing, but neither is open to every BTCPay user.
BitPay currently lists US and Canada merchant onboarding, with new EEA, UK and Australian applications paused. Its country help also warns about limits in some states and says its restriction list isn't exhaustive.[12] CoinGate lists countries including Germany, Canada and the UK, but not the US or UAE.[17] Receiving in your currency or holding a licence doesn't get you around those limits.
The cards below compare ordinary BTC merchant processing only: BitPay Acceptance for approved US or Canadian companies, and CoinGate Standard for approved companies in listed countries. The headline fees leave out minimum commissions, network and Lightning costs, conversion margins and bank, account or application charges, plus hosting, staff and support if you run BTCPay yourself. Costs we couldn't find aren't zero. The scores and ranks are the site-wide ones, so they say nothing about whether you'd be approved.
- 1
CoinGateManaged checkout for approved companies in listed countries
81/1001%- Hosted payment pages or billing links
- Crypto or bank payouts once approved
- A published percentage fee on Standard
- A quote margin and payout costs come on top, and a listed country is no guarantee your business or owners will be approved.
- 3
BitPayManaged checkout for approved US or Canadian shops
73/1002% + $0.25- Published fee tiers
- Bank or crypto settlement for approved accounts
- No payment server of your own to run
- The application fee has no listed price, small orders feel the fixed fee, and new EEA, UK and Australia onboarding is paused.
Is BitPay a good replacement for your shop?
Consider BitPay when an approved bank payout and managed checkout would fix a real operating problem. The BitPay review has the account and checkout details.
With Acceptance, BitPay receives payments as your agent and records a settlement claim; you never hold the spending keys for the incoming coins. The merchant agreement keeps that service apart from general cryptocurrency custody. It also requires a non-refundable application fee, and we couldn't find the amount.[13] Having a wallet product or payout service doesn't let you use Acceptance. This is general information, not legal advice.
Is CoinGate a better fit outside BitPay's countries?
Consider CoinGate if your company qualifies and its payment and payout options suit you. Its processing contract is for legal persons selling goods or services, and filling in the account form isn't the same as being approved as a merchant.[20] Our CoinGate review explains the account's practical limits.
CoinGate's general terms allow ongoing checks and restrictions on transactions, and they describe account balances rather than insured bank deposits.[19]
How do the managed choices compare with BTCPay?
BTCPay is the software baseline here. A listed asset or platform may not be switched on for you, and a listed package may not be maintained. BTCPay's row describes software you run with an external wallet; hot wallets, shared Lightning hosts and conversion partners work differently. Its native bank payout shows as unknown, which isn't the same as offering one.
The table's basket and fee figures cover limited BTC processing or BTCPay software charges only, before the costs listed above. A software price of zero still leaves running costs, and the basket isn't cash in your bank.
BitPay | CoinGate | BTCPay Server | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 73/100 · #3 | 81/100 · #1 | 57/100 · #12 |
| Payment fee | 2% + $0.25 | 1% | 0% |
| Cost on $10k/month | $225 | $100 | $0.00 |
| Pays out to bank | AUD, CAD, CHF, EUR, GBP, MXN, NZD, USD | EUR, GBP, USD | Not stated |
| Stablecoin networks | USDC: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana · USDT: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Solana · PYUSD: Ethereum · GUSD: Ethereum · USDP: Ethereum · EURC: Ethereum · BUSD: Ethereum, Polygon | USDC: Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Optimism · EURC: Ethereum | USDT: Liquid, TRC20 (plugin) |
| Coins | 19 | 12 | 14 |
| Custody | Custodial | Custodial | Non-custodial |
| Merchant KYC | Required | Required | None |
| Rolling reserve | Not stated | Not stated | none |
| Licence | Money transmitter (NMLS ID) (1496848); Virtual Currency Business Activity licence (NYDFS) | Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCA), Bank of Lithuania; licence No. 2, authorization code LB002323 (LB002323); Payment institution, Bank of Lithuania (EMT operations); licence No. 60, authorization code LB002324 (LB002324) | Not stated |
| Plugins | WooCommerce, Shopify, Magento 2, WHMCS, Wix, BigCommerce | WooCommerce, Wix, Magento 2, WHMCS, OpenCart, PrestaShop | WooCommerce, Shopify, PrestaShop, Magento, BigCommerce, Odoo |
| Legal entity country | United States | Lithuania | Not stated |
| Founded | 2011 | 2014 | Not stated |
Can changing the hosting solve the problem?
Yes, when hardware is the burden and you can still run the payment application yourself. Renting a server changes who supplies the infrastructure. A shared store can also change which features you get and who receives payments first.
The prices below cover only the software or hosting named in each row. They leave out staff time, backups, extra storage, extensions and any conversion or bank charges, so they're lines in a budget, not a full bill or proof you'd save against managed processing. A host's or partner's terms also have to accept your country, company and activity.
| Option | Who runs it? | Who receives or releases the money? | Price we know | Work and eligibility still open |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keep running BTCPay yourself | You or your developer | With external on-chain keys, you control spending. Server hot wallets and shared Lightning work differently | No software charge | Running it, backups, customer support and any host or partner permission. A compromised checkout can redirect future payments |
| LunaNode server running BTCPay | LunaNode supplies the server, you run the application | Whatever wallet and node setup you choose. Renting a server doesn't automatically get you a bank payout | Guide's $14 m.4 plus one 60GB volume at $1.80: $15.80/month for those two parts | Unmanaged software, extra storage, your time, backups and LunaNode's terms. No full quote |
| Bitcart, self-hosted | You or your developer | With the core, watch-only Bitcoin receipts go to your wallet. The paid token extension keeps pool and fee-wallet keys locally | The core has no processing charge. We couldn't confirm the extension's subscription or overage price | Hosting, network fees, data, customer service, and the extension's and partners' terms |
| BTC Pay Latin America shared store, as an example | The host | The Standard service holds receipts temporarily and describes daily Lightning forwarding. With your own node, receipts work differently | Terms describe a 1% Standard service commission, or none with your own node | We couldn't verify the company, its financial permissions or who it accepts. No guaranteed release or support contract |
BTCPay's hosting documentation explains the control difference in the first row.[2] Bitcart's documentation describes its watch-only core, including its reliance on the host and the invoice data it keeps.[8] Neither shows better security, privacy or reliability.
What does LunaNode take off your hands?
LunaNode supplies the virtual machine, a computer you rent from it. Its guide says plainly that the software service is unmanaged.[5] You still need someone to maintain BTCPay and deal with customer problems.
The sums above use LunaNode's USD pricing; CAD payments are converted to USD account credit. Extra storage, bandwidth, tax and your own time can all change the bill. It's prepaid and billed hourly, not a fixed all-in checkout package.[6] We couldn't confirm current plan availability or any capacity guarantee.
The terms name LunaNode Hosting Inc. and still show a 4 January 2018 modification date. They cover lawful use, resource limits, credit suspension, deletion and credit refunds that depend on conditions, and they exclude automatic data backups.[7]
What changes with Bitcart or a shared store?
Bitcart changes the software, and its paid ETH and token extension changes how keys are handled too. The documentation describes local pool keys, a fee-wallet key, gas and minimum conditions, and licence checks using aggregate volume and machine information. There's no full public price list: yearly billing still allows charges above the $2,000 monthly unbilled volume, and we couldn't find the base or excess prices.[9] Have your developer check the exact extension rather than assuming the core's fee and key claims apply.
BTC Pay Latin America's terms, updated 4 September 2026, show why a shared store needs a closer look. The terms require adult legal capacity and lawful use, disclaim regulated-bank status and deposit insurance, and describe an availability target without a guaranteed service-level agreement.[10] We haven't found enough about the company or its permissions to recommend it broadly.
Who will control the Bitcoin?
Control depends on how you set up receiving and your wallet. A watch-only connection can see payments but not spend them, a hot wallet sits on the payment server, and an external signing wallet needs its own approval to spend.[3]
External keys protect money you've already received. A compromised checkout could still point new payments at the wrong address, so the payment website needs protecting as well as the wallet.
Lightning, a payment network that runs alongside Bitcoin, adds another choice. On a host's shared node, payments land in the host's wallet. Your own external setup works differently, and receiving capacity, routing and liquidity services can affect how well it works and what it costs.[4] A payout address of your own doesn't prove the host never held the money.
What would managed processing cost?
BitPay's entry rate is 2% plus $0.25 per payment below $500,000 in monthly volume, and higher-risk pricing can be higher.[11] CoinGate's Commercial Policy describes a 1% merchant charge plus a quote risk margin with no listed price.[18]
The calculator covers ordinary incoming BTC payments at approved BitPay Acceptance companies in the US or Canada and approved CoinGate Standard companies in listed countries, and leaves out the costs listed earlier. Annual figures assume twelve identical months, and each month is priced as a whole, so it ignores what happens when you cross a pricing threshold partway through. "Lowest" only compares the fees included, and BTCPay software and hosting budgets aren't part of it.
CoinGateLowest estimate$100$100 1.00%
BitPay$225$225 2.25%
Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.
The BitPay fee guide and CoinGate fee guide cover the other charges, and the fee calculator guide explains what the model leaves out.
Will the proceeds reach your bank when you need them?
Settle on an approved way to get paid out before you rely on a fee percentage. A sale priced in dollars, a crypto receipt and money you can spend from your bank are three different things.
BitPay's developer guide describes issuing settlements on business days, above minimums. US dollar ACH to a US bank has a $20 minimum and a listed arrival of two business days after issue. A non-US dollar wire has a $10,000 minimum, and the guide gives no arrival time for wires there.[14] BitPay's support help gives different EUR and GBP minimums from the guide, so ask which applies to your account.[15]
On CoinGate Standard, SEPA withdrawals have a €50 minimum amount, while SWIFT costs 0.5% with a €50 minimum fee. The first means you need €50 to withdraw; the second is money charged on the transfer. Paying out to a recipient is a different event: €0.50 plus 0.5%, or €0.50 plus 1.5% with conversion. Don't add those, or the manual exchange charge, to every checkout. Standard releases funds weekly, and the money still has to reach your bank.[16]
BTCPay doesn't include a bank service. A conversion partner brings its own conditions on accounts, control, price and eligibility. A host that shows prices in your currency may not pay you out in it. If neither BitPay nor CoinGate gives you the payout you need, compare other gateway options.
What happens to orders, refunds and renewals?
A browser redirect after checkout doesn't settle an invoice or complete a refund.
BTCPay describes invoices as settled, processing, partial, late or manually marked, and a manually marked invoice may not have a confirmed payment behind it.[21] Its refund flow treats a customer's claim, your approval, signing, sending and final completion as different steps.[22]
CoinGate runs two different clocks. A refund request on an order credited to your account has 90 days from the credit. For an unsuccessful or suspended payment, 1% accrues daily from the payment date, and the 100-day waiver requires both a refund claim and requested information. After 100 days the accrued charge uses up the whole amount received. Legal and technical conditions still apply.[20] The refund product summary also conflicts with pricing over same-currency fees, so check the refund preview you're shown and don't promise a free refund.[28]
BTCPay supports reminders the customer pays by hand and automatic renewals from funded prepaid credit; it doesn't offer a universal debit from an outside wallet.[23] CoinGate's scheduled bills still need the recipient to pay.[27]
For Shopify, BTCPay's published setup uses a custom manual payment method, with the payment step coming later on the Thank-you page. The host's permissions and how orders and refunds are handled matter too.[25] We haven't installed any of these packages, so none of this is a compatibility or security test.
When should you stay with BTCPay?
Stay when receiving Bitcoin, the customer checkout and the way you run things already work for the business. Switching should buy an improvement you can name: less work, an approved bank payout or a better fit for the way customers pay.
- Direct receipts into an external wallet suit a shop that wants to keep Bitcoin.
- Someone capable on your side stays in control of the payment application.
- Renting a server may solve a hardware problem without replacing BTCPay.
- BTCPay's own invoice, refund and prepaid-renewal workflows may already do what you need.
- Someone has to maintain checkout and backups, keep records and handle customer support.
- Shared hosting, hot wallets and Lightning can change who controls the funds.
- Getting money into a bank means finding a service and an account that suit you.
- Community help comes with no contract promising a reply or a fix.
For a wider shortlist of managed services, see CoinGate alternatives once you've picked an operating model.
What should you check before changing checkout?
BTCPay's backup documentation puts responsibility on whoever runs the server, and a backup file is no guarantee that your records, payment monitoring or recovery will work.[26]
- 01
Check what's on offer
Check the contract against your company, owners, activity, customers, coins and payout method, and get a full quote. Find out who runs the service and who to escalate to.
- 02
Account for what's open
List open invoices, late or short payments, refunds, prepaid credits and statements, and keep the records you'd need to explain each customer's case.
- 03
Review your checkout
Have whoever runs it check the version you picked, host permissions, confirmation rules, order updates and the refund process before a controlled rollout.
- 04
Keep customers informed
Tell customers about changed payment instructions and renewals. Keep another payment option working, and keep access to the records and support you need for outstanding orders.
Judge the new setup by whether a paid order is marked as paid correctly, an unusual payment reaches the right person, you can match proceeds to sales, and customers know how to ask for a return.
A new processor doesn't automatically inherit your approvals, balances or subscription permissions.
Show the evidence log (8 checks)+
| Checked | What we checked | Finding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-15 | Hosting control | External keys, hot wallets and future checkout instructions have different risks. | BTCPay hosting docs |
| 2026-10-15 | What's covered | LunaNode supplies an unmanaged virtual server, and the listed prices don't cover running it. | LunaNode guide |
| 2026-10-15 | Different software | Bitcart's paid token extension works differently from its watch-only core. | Bitcart extension docs |
| 2026-10-15 | Shared-store example | September terms describe temporary holding on the Standard service and different handling with your own node. We couldn't verify who it accepts. | BTC Pay Latin America |
| 2026-10-15 | Managed access | BitPay lists US and Canada onboarding and has paused new EEA, UK and Australia applications. | BitPay country help |
| 2026-10-11 | Earlier reading | BitPay's Acceptance agreement describes the settlement claim and the application fee we couldn't find a price for. | Earlier BitPay terms reading |
| 2026-10-15 | Quote margin | CoinGate lists a merchant charge but no price for its quote margin. | CoinGate Commercial Policy |
| 2026-10-15 | Renewals | BTCPay's reminders and prepaid-credit renewals aren't automatic debit from an outside wallet. | BTCPay subscriptions |
Frequently asked questions
What is the best BTCPay Server alternative?
Can I use BTCPay without maintaining physical hardware?
Is hosted BTCPay always non-custodial?
Is Bitcart a free replacement for every BTCPay feature?
Does a low server rental make self-hosting the cheapest choice?
Can a new UK business choose BitPay instead?
Will CoinGate replace BTCPay's direct wallet control?
Does BTCPay support automatic subscriptions?
Does changing gateways automatically move refunds and order history?
When is staying with BTCPay the better decision?
Updated 15 October 2026 to add what the budgets leave out, who controls shared-store receipts, bank conditions and who handles renewals.
Sources
28
Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.
- BTCPay general FAQ · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay third-party hosting and control · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay wallet and signing · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay Lightning FAQ · Checked 2026-10-15
- LunaNode BTCPay guide · Checked 2026-10-15
- LunaNode infrastructure pricing · Checked 2026-10-15
- LunaNode terms, last modified 4 January 2018 · Checked 2026-10-15
- Bitcart introduction and core receipt model · Checked 2026-10-15
- Bitcart paid ETH and token extension · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTC Pay Latin America terms, updated 4 September 2026 · Checked 2026-10-15
- BitPay Acceptance pricing · Checked 2026-10-15
- BitPay merchant onboarding countries · Checked 2026-10-15
- BitPay merchant terms, dated source reused · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay developer settlement routes · Checked 2026-10-15
- BitPay settlement help, updated 7 October 2026 · Checked 2026-10-15
- CoinGate Standard and Enterprise pricing · Checked 2026-10-15
- CoinGate merchant countries · Checked 2026-10-15
- CoinGate Commercial Policy and quote margin · Checked 2026-10-15
- CoinGate general terms, effective 1 January 2026 · Checked 2026-10-15
- CoinGate processing terms, effective 1 September 2026 · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay invoices and payment exceptions · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay refunds · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay subscriptions and prepaid renewals · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay community and paid support · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay Shopify payment flow · Checked 2026-10-15
- BTCPay backup responsibilities · Checked 2026-10-15
- CoinGate scheduled billing · Checked 2026-10-15
- CoinGate merchant refund description · Checked 2026-10-15

