Coinbase Commerce Fees (2026): What Coinbase Business Charges
Budget $100 in payment fees on a $10,000 month only if you migrated from Coinbase Commerce at 1%. New Coinbase Business merchants see their rate after sign-in, and converting receipts to dollars adds a fee and spread that Coinbase doesn't put a number on. Commerce's portal closed after the 31 March 2026 deadline; Business is its custodial replacement for approved US and Singapore businesses. It can suit a stablecoin business, but you can't budget a complete bill until you have quotes for payments, conversion and bank transfers.
Commerce wallets were self-custodial: you controlled the keys. Business holds funds on your behalf. The 1% transition offer is for migrating merchants, so a new account may not get that rate.
Does Coinbase Commerce still exist, and does it still charge 1%?
Coinbase's transition guide says the Commerce portal became permanently inaccessible after the 31 March 2026 deadline, and lists the replacement's price as 1% for migrating merchants.[1] The old Commerce web address now redirects to Business.[7]
For everyone else, Coinbase says Business charges a fee on every payment that goes through and shows the current rate after sign-in.[2] The developer docs add that the rate appears when you create a payment link, and that fees cover volume through links, invoices and checkouts.[11] An October 2025 launch post did quote 1%, but for an early US alpha, so don't read it as your price.[8]
Eligibility comes before pennies. Coinbase says Business is open to C corporations and LLCs based in the US and Singapore.[10] The US agreement is narrower: it names C corporations and LLCs with more than one owner, and leaves other entities to Coinbase's discretion. A US sole-owner LLC should ask Coinbase before applying. That clause says nothing about Singapore's rules.[15] A broader account description names other entity types, but a sole proprietor shouldn't assume approval. If you don't fit what Coinbase lists, start with our Coinbase Commerce alternatives.
Everything Coinbase publishes about Business fees
A fee Coinbase hasn't published isn't a fee of zero.
| Item | What the public sources say | What you still need |
|---|---|---|
| Payment fee, migrating Commerce merchants | 1% | Confirmation that your account has this rate |
| Payment fee, new merchants | A fee on each completed payment, shown after sign-in | Your rate |
| Fixed fee per payment and volume tiers | No amount or tier bands published in the fee sources below | Your account's full fee structure |
| Application | No fee to apply | Approval, and the other fees on this list |
| Monthly, inactivity or platform charges | No specific tariff found in the sources below | Whether any account charges apply |
| Customer's payment network cost | No gas balance needed on Base, but other networks may need one | Cost on the customer's chosen network |
| USDT receipts | Automatically converted and settled in USDC | Whether the conversion costs extra |
| Automatic USDC-to-USD conversion | Coinbase's Business page says a fee applies; liquidation help also says spread applies[6] | Your rate, and the dollars you end up with |
| Bank funding | ACH deposits are listed as free, and wire-deposit fees vary by bank[20] | Your bank's wire price. These fees are for deposits only |
| Bank withdrawal by ACH | Transfers may take 1–3 business days | Withdrawal fee, minimum and account limit |
| Bank withdrawal by wire | Mentioned in the October 2025 launch post | Whether your account can use it, and the price |
| USDC payouts you send | Coinbase says no wire fees, and Base transactions have no gas fees for sender or recipient[5] | Charges on any other network. It isn't a bank wire |
| Refunds | Checkout API supports full and partial refunds | Whether your original fee comes back, and who pays any refund network cost |
| Chargebacks | Coinbase markets stablecoin checkout without chargebacks | Your own returns and customer-service costs |
| Wrong-asset recovery | US Business terms allow a discretionary recovery attempt with fees | Whether Coinbase offers recovery for your account, and what it would charge |
How much will a $10,000 month cost you?
At the migrating-merchant rate, the fee on a $10,000 month is $100. Across 100 orders of $100, that leaves $9,900 before conversion, transfers and bank charges. Each extra 0.1% of cost on those sales adds $10 a month, and a new merchant's rate could differ.
Adjust the calculator to your monthly sales and average order. Coinbase's line uses the migrating-merchant 1%. B2BinPay's uses its coin rate, not its higher stablecoin rate, and leaves out its per-network minimum commissions, so ask whether they apply to you. The totals also leave out any application fees and other charges we couldn't find.
B2BinPayLowest estimate$40$40 0.40%
Coinbase Commerce / Coinbase Business$100$100 1.00%Confirm rate
CoinGate$100$100 1.00%
BitPay$225$225 2.25%
Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.
BitPay's 2% plus 25 cents comes to $225 on that same month, a $125 gap, or $1,500 across twelve identical months.[16] CoinGate's Standard fee is 1%, or $100.[17] B2BinPay charges 0.50% for stablecoins in its $0–1 million band, or $50 here; its 0.40% coin rate produces the calculator's $40.[19]
Two worked months
Does order size change the fee?
Coinbase's published migrating-merchant fee is a percentage of the order value, and we found no fixed fee in that offer. The chart plots the fees we know, with Coinbase flat at 1% and B2BinPay at its coin rate. BitPay's 25 cents pushes its curve up on small baskets: a $25 order costs 75 cents, or 3%.
If your orders are mostly small, ask whether your quote includes a fixed charge. Ten cents on a $10 basket adds a full percentage point on top of the percentage fee.
Who pays the network fee?
Customers may need to pay the blockchain cost. Gas comes on top of the merchant fee, and although Coinbase says Base payments work without a gas balance, it doesn't say who funds a Base transaction.
Payment links accept USDC on Ethereum, Base, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum, and USDT on Ethereum. Funds settle in USDC.[2] A buyer already holding USDC on Base has the easiest path. Swapping coins or chains beforehand can add costs outside your Coinbase bill.
Payouts you send work differently. The payout guide says Base transactions are free for you and the recipient, but gives no price for other networks. The checkout overview is silent on refund network costs too, so ask about both before you promise a customer the full order value back.
Is converting USDC and USDT to dollars free?
Don't budget automatic dollar conversion as free. Coinbase's Business page says automatic USDC-to-USD conversion has a fee, shown after sign-in. Its liquidation help says conversions are subject to fees and spread, without publishing the amount.[3]
USDT receipts add another conversion step: Coinbase says they automatically become USDC. Its August 2026 announcement confirms this is live, though the older transition table still calls USDT a future feature.[9] Ask whether your payment rate covers that conversion.
Coinbase's general fee disclosure mentions 0.10% on net USDC conversions above $5 million in a rolling 30-day period.[13] The US Business agreement points to that disclosure for fee calculations, but nothing says that threshold is the whole automatic-conversion tariff. A shop below $5 million shouldn't assume conversion is free, and its Business quote is what counts.
For scale, a hypothetical 0.5% conversion cost on all $10,000 of sales would add $50 to a $100 fee. That's our illustration, not a Coinbase rate, and it would come out differently if the charge applied to the balance after the fee.
What does it cost to get paid out to your bank?
Coinbase's withdrawal guide gives timing but no withdrawal fee. ACH transfers may take 1–3 business days, and the bank-account name must match your Business account. The guide publishes no withdrawal minimum or limit.[4] That matters if you're expecting today's crypto sale to fund tomorrow's supplier payment.
Auto-withdraw can send your available USD balance, or whatever is above a threshold you set, through ACH daily, weekly or monthly. The October 2025 launch post also mentions wire cash-outs, but gives no cost and doesn't say which accounts can use them.
The free ACH on the funding page covers deposits into Business, not withdrawals. The US Business agreement lets Coinbase deduct bank fees it incurs from transfers and makes you responsible for your own bank's charges.[15]
Rewards can offset some spending, but they don't reduce a fee. Coinbase's rewards help lists 3.60% annual percentage yield, a $1 minimum and rates that vary by region and can change.[12] A constant $10,000 balance at that rate would earn about $360 over a year, roughly $30 a month. Your balance and rate may differ, and money you withdraw to pay bills stops earning rewards.
Which Coinbase Business fees are easy to miss?
Conversion, bank costs and refunds are the main gaps in a usable budget, even if your fee rate looks cheap. Put these questions to Coinbase before making Business your main checkout:
- What does your payment quote cover? The percentage, any fixed charge, and whether USDT conversion is included.
- What arrives after dollar conversion? The fee, the spread and how it's calculated, not just the payment rate.
- What costs apply to withdrawals? Coinbase's deduction, your bank's charge, any minimum and how much you can transfer.
- What happens on a refund? The checkout API supports full and partial refunds, but the overview is silent on whether your original fee comes back or who pays the refund's network cost.[11]
- What other account charges apply? We found no monthly or inactivity fee in the sources listed here, though your contract may have one.
A delayed transfer can leave you short of cash without adding any fee. Coinbase says transactions can be reviewed, delayed or cancelled; most finish within a few hours, but some take longer.[14]
The US Business agreement, updated 22 July 2026, reserves the right to change fees and waivers. Some changes get at least 30 days' notice, but only in states where the law requires it. It also permits fees for a discretionary wrong-asset recovery attempt, and shows account limits after sign-in. A Singapore merchant's contract may say something different.[15] This is general information, not legal advice.
How do Coinbase Business fees compare with alternatives?
At the migrating-merchant 1%, Coinbase's fee is lower than BitPay's in the examples above, which makes it worth considering for an eligible US business taking stablecoins. BitPay publishes its rates and issues settlements every business day above the relevant minimum; arrival at your bank is another wait.[21] A new Coinbase applicant still needs a quote before choosing on cost.
Coinbase's row uses the migrating-merchant rate and B2BinPay's headline is for coins. Neither includes charges we couldn't find.
Coinbase Commerce / Coinbase Business | BitPay | CoinGate | B2BinPay | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 67/100 · #5 | 73/100 · #3 | 81/100 · #1 | 62/100 · #9 |
| Payment fee | from 1% | 2% + $0.25 | 1% | 0.4% |
| Cost on $10k/month | $100 | $225 | $100 | $40.00 |
| Pays out to bank | USD | AUD, CAD, CHF, EUR, GBP, MXN, NZD, USD | EUR, GBP, USD | EUR, USD |
| Stablecoin networks | USDC: Ethereum, Base, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum · USDT: Ethereum | USDC: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana · USDT: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Solana · PYUSD: Ethereum · GUSD: Ethereum · USDP: Ethereum · EURC: Ethereum · BUSD: Ethereum, Polygon | USDC: Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Optimism · EURC: Ethereum | USDT: Not stated · USDC: Not stated |
| Coins | 2 | 19 | 12 | Not stated |
| Custody | Custodial | Custodial | Custodial | Custodial |
| Merchant KYC | Required | Required | Required | Required |
| Rolling reserve | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Licence | Money transmitter licences (NMLS ID, Coinbase, Inc.) (1163082); New York Virtual Currency Business Activity licence (NYDFS) (122466) | Money transmitter (NMLS ID) (1496848); Virtual Currency Business Activity licence (NYDFS) | Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCA), Bank of Lithuania; licence No. 2, authorization code LB002323 (LB002323); Payment institution, Bank of Lithuania (EMT operations); licence No. 60, authorization code LB002324 (LB002324) | Digital Asset Service Provider (PSAD), B2BINPAY EL SALVADOR S.A. DE C.V. (PSAD-0064); Bitcoin Service Provider (PSB), B2BINPAY EL SALVADOR S.A. DE C.V. |
| Plugins | Not stated | WooCommerce, Shopify, Magento 2, WHMCS, Wix, BigCommerce | WooCommerce, Wix, Magento 2, WHMCS, OpenCart, PrestaShop | WooCommerce |
| Legal entity country | United States | United States | Lithuania | Not stated |
| Founded | Not stated | 2011 | 2014 | Not stated |
CoinGate lists Singapore among its merchant countries but not the US, so a US shop can't count on it as a direct substitute.[18] B2BinPay's El Salvador policy restricts US and Canadian residents and companies despite a conflicting exemption footer, so a low rate may not be open to you.[24]
CoinGate's commercial policy adds a risk margin, with no listed price, to its 1% merchant fee, so $100 isn't its whole cost either.[22] B2BinPay's bank table covers EUR and USD, with a 5,000 minimum per withdrawal plus its own charges, and its T+1 label doesn't promise next-day arrival at your bank.[19] Its low percentage suits bigger flows better than a shop making small, frequent bank transfers.
BitPay's rate falls from 2% to 1.5% at $500,000 monthly volume and to 1% at $1 million, each plus 25 cents. Higher-risk industries pay a higher rate that isn't published. The BitPay fee guide and CoinGate fee guide cover their extras, and BitPay vs Coinbase Commerce compares the two head to head.
How can you pay less?
- 01
Apply and read your rate
There's no application fee. Once approved, create a payment link and read the rate shown, before you build anything on top of it.
- 02
Ask Coinbase about the gaps
Email Coinbase the questions above, including conversion spread, wire fees and whether volume pricing exists.
- 03
Pick the cheapest way for customers to pay
If customers already hold USDC on Base, they can pay without holding gas. USDC receipts also avoid the USDT-to-USDC conversion step.
- 04
Get a second quote
Compare BitPay, or CoinGate if you're in a country it lists, at the same monthly volume and order size, and count the money that reaches your bank.
Batching withdrawals would only help if your account has a fixed transfer cost, and none is published, so don't hold back cash you need to dodge a fee nobody has confirmed.
Where can you read more about Coinbase Business?
The Coinbase Commerce review covers approval, custody and payment support. For the wider choice, see the BitPay review and CoinGate review, our processor buying guide and the gateway ranking.
We read the public sources again on 11 October 2026: Coinbase's help, checkout docs, announcements and US Business agreement, plus competitors' pricing and eligibility pages. We haven't opened an account or made a payment, and the examples are hypothetical calculations. We apply Coinbase's 1% only to migrating merchants, and the charts leave out costs we couldn't find.
Coinbase Commerce fees FAQ
Does Coinbase Commerce still charge 1%?
What are Coinbase Business's fees for new merchants?
How much does Coinbase Business cost on $10,000 a month?
Is there a fee to open a Coinbase Business account?
Who pays the network fee on Coinbase Business?
Does Coinbase charge to convert USDC to dollars?
How much does it cost to withdraw to my bank?
Are there chargebacks or chargeback fees?
Is Coinbase Business cheaper than BitPay?
Change log: 14 October 2026, rechecked B2BinPay's policy. 11 October 2026, rechecked the high-risk fee claims and added the current US Business terms and deposit pricing. 5 October 2026, first published.
Sources
24
Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.
- Coinbase Help: Transitioning from Coinbase Commerce to Coinbase Business · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Payment links and invoices for Coinbase Business · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Automate withdrawals and liquidation · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: ACH transfers for Coinbase Business · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Send a payout from Coinbase Business · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Business · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Commerce page (now Coinbase Business) · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase blog: Business payment tools (16 Oct 2025) · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase blog: Getting paid in crypto with Coinbase Business (11 Aug 2026) · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Coinbase Business overview · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Developer Platform: Checkout APIs overview · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Earn USDC rewards · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Pricing and fees disclosures · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Transaction delays and cancellations · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Business User Agreement (US section, updated 22 July 2026) · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate supported countries · Checked 2026-10-11
- B2BINPAY fees · Checked 2026-10-11
- Coinbase Help: Fund your Coinbase Business account · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay developer docs: Banking and settlements · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate Commercial Policy (Summary) · Checked 2026-10-11
- B2BinPay regional eligibility disclosures · Checked 2026-10-11
- B2BinPay AML policy and conflicting regional footer · Checked 2026-10-14
