NOWPayments vs CoinGate 2026: Fees, Licences and Who Should Pick Which

CoinGate fits a business that qualifies for its bank payouts and wants licences it can look up in a Lithuanian register. NOWPayments fits an approved business that wants USDT or a wider range of coins paid into its own wallet. Both publish a 1% standard fee, though NOWPayments charges more for some payment settings and CoinGate adds a quote margin on top. Your country may settle the choice before price does. NOWPayments also describes euro bank withdrawals, but we couldn't find their full price or arrival time.

The prices look close until you decide which coin to accept and where the money should end up.

How we reviewed this

We first reviewed both providers' pricing, terms, help pages, coin lists and integration guides on 11 October, along with the Bank of Lithuania register and Tether's protocol list. A few fee and currency sources were rechecked on 14 October. We compared what the providers publish and worked out hypothetical costs. We didn't open accounts, make payments or test plugins. The gateway ranking explains how we score.

Pick CoinGate for bank settlement, NOWPayments for USDT

CoinGate is the stronger starting point for an EU or UK shop that wants euros in a bank account. NOWPayments is the stronger starting point for a business its terms permit that wants USDT or a wider range of coins paid into its own wallet. Both depend on approval and on your industry.

Our verdict
CoinGate
#1 Best overall · 2026#2 Lowest fees · 2026#1 Stablecoins · 2026Our pick: Bank settlement and checkable licences

Start with CoinGate if your country is supported and you want bank settlement through a named, licensed company. The trade-offs: Standard settles weekly, USDT isn't listed, quotes carry a margin, and SWIFT withdrawals can get expensive.

#1 of 27 · Best overall
Best for
  • Approved merchants wanting euro bank settlement
  • Businesses that want to check a regulator's register
  • Stores whose buyers can use USDC or other listed assets
Not for
  • USDT-dependent checkouts
  • Businesses outside its country list
  • Shops requiring daily bank arrival
Our verdict
NOWPayments
Our pick: USDT and a broader coin range

Start with NOWPayments if your business qualifies and your buyers need USDT or smaller coins. Paying straight to your wallet suits a business that's comfortable handling crypto. Its fixed-rate fee is described two different ways, discounts need approval, and we couldn't find a full price for euro bank withdrawals.

#8 of 27 · Best overall
Best for
  • Approved businesses taking USDT
  • Merchants comfortable receiving crypto
  • Stores needing a wider coin selection
Not for
  • Businesses caught by its country restrictions
  • Merchants who need a named licence in the documents
  • Shops that need euro bank withdrawals fully priced before approval

Prices in the comparison rows and the calculations below are the percentage fee only. Network fees, quote margins, bank charges and account-specific charges come on top, and a charge nobody has published isn't zero. The scores compare what the providers publish, and a higher score doesn't make an excluded business eligible.

CoinGate
81/100
4 – 2
NOWPayments
63/100
6.7
Cost
6.7
8.0
Fiat cash-out
6.0
10.0
Licence
0.0
8.0
Coins and networks
10.0
10.0
Integrations and API
7.0
10.0
Features
10.0
6.0
Support and reliability
9.0
6.0
Onboarding
3.0
 
CoinGate
NOWPayments
Score81/100 · #163/100 · #8
Payment fee1%1%
Cost on $10k/month$100$100
Pays out to bankEUR, GBP, USDEUR
Stablecoin networksUSDC: Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Optimism · EURC: EthereumUSDT: TRC20, BSC, ERC20, Solana, Polygon · USDC: ERC20, Polygon, Solana · DAI: ERC20 · TUSD: Standard, TRC20 · USDP: ERC20 · BUSD: BSC · GUSD: ERC20 · USDD: TRC20 · PYUSD: ERC20 · USDE: ERC20
Coins12300
CustodyCustodialCustodial or non-custodial
Merchant KYCRequiredNot stated
Rolling reserveNot statedNot stated
LicenceCrypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCA), Bank of Lithuania; licence No. 2, authorization code LB002323 (LB002323); Payment institution, Bank of Lithuania (EMT operations); licence No. 60, authorization code LB002324 (LB002324)Not stated
PluginsWooCommerce, Wix, Magento 2, WHMCS, OpenCart, PrestaShopWooCommerce, WooCommerce (CoderPress WordPress.org package), WHMCS
Legal entity countryLithuaniaNot stated
Founded20142019

For more on either one, read our CoinGate review or NOWPayments review.

Your country can settle the choice before price does

CoinGate's supported-country page, which we read on 11 October, lists the EU, UK, Canada, Australia and Singapore and leaves out the US, UAE and Russia. Its terms require your location and operations to be inside that list.

NOWPayments' terms, updated 31 August 2026, exclude residents or citizens of the EU, UK, US and UAE, and people located in or resident in Russia. They don't say how a company with owners or directors in those places is treated, so ask for a written decision if that applies to you.

CoinGate asks for company documents, a live identity check for the person registering, IDs for directors and owners holding 25% or more, and proof of your operating address. Have that paperwork ready before you pick a launch date, and don't count on skipping ID checks at either provider, because they can also come up once payments are flowing. This is general information, not legal advice.

Both start at 1%, but the total cost differs

At 1%, a $10,000 month costs $100 in fees. CoinGate's fee help confirms that rate with no setup or monthly charges. NOWPayments' fee answer gives 1% without exchange and 1.5% with conversion, fixed rate or fee-paid-by-user.

That's before blockchain fees and bank charges. CoinGate's commercial policy also adds an unpublished to its payment quotes, on top of the fee. NOWPayments' bank charges aren't fully published. So compare what your customer sends with what you receive, not just the percentage.

Fee calculator
Average order
CoinGate: estimated fees
$100per month· $1,200 a year · 1.00%
  • CoinGate
    $100
    1.00%
  • NOWPayments
    $100
    1.00%

Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.

ChargeCoinGateNOWPayments
Main feeStandard 1%1%, or 1.5% for some settings
Payment quoteA risk margin of unpublished sizeDepends on the rate and conversion setting you pick
Ordinary crypto withdrawalPricing page says free, but fee help mentions transfer costsNo service fee, plus a network fee on external payouts
Euro bank withdrawalSEPA free, €50 minimum withdrawalThrough a partner, with conditions. We couldn't find the full tariff
SWIFT bank withdrawal0.50%, minimum fee €50No comparable option listed
Merchant refundPages disagree on the fee for same-currency refundsRecovery charges are possible, and refunding a completed payment is on you
Custom priceEnterprise plan, price by agreementDiscounts depend on your account

The €50 SEPA minimum is an amount you must withdraw. The €50 SWIFT minimum is a fee. The CoinGate fee guide and NOWPayments fee guide cover the rest of the charges.

NOWPayments' help pages quote different rates

Budget 1% or 1.5% until your account says otherwise. NOWPayments' help article on fees, checked on 14 October, says identity and business approvals together reduce same-coin fees to 0.5%, though it's unclear whether your account would get that. The September Integration Guide quotes the fixed-rate fee at 1%, while the fee answer says 1.5%. Get the fixed-rate figure into your written quote.

At $10,000, a half-point difference is $50 a month.

Direct-wallet payments and held balances have different costs

With direct-wallet payments, NOWPayments describes one network fee paid by the buyer for sending and two more deducted as the payment is processed and delivered to your wallet. Its Custody flow cuts that to one transfer on your side, then the withdrawal itself. Batching withdrawals means fewer external transfers, but your money sits with a third-party custodian in the meantime.

Its Custody help describes external withdrawals and mass payouts as zero service fee plus one network fee per payout.

CoinGate says the buyer pays the sending fee on incoming payments. Its pricing page calls ordinary crypto withdrawals free, but its fee help talks about transfer fees covering network costs, and neither says every network charge is waived for every destination. Look at the withdrawal preview before you send.

Small orders magnify network costs; SWIFT magnifies frequent withdrawals

Both can look cheap on the fee and still cost more by the time you hold usable money. The examples below are made up. One uses dollars and one uses euros, and we don't convert between them.

The SWIFT fee and weekly Standard settlement come from CoinGate's pricing page.

CoinGate lists its bank options; NOWPayments' euro withdrawals need confirmation

CoinGate lists euros through SEPA or SWIFT, and dollars and pounds through SWIFT only. SEPA is the euro bank-transfer system; SWIFT is the international one. A settlement schedule tells you when CoinGate releases funds, not when your bank credits them.

CoinGate's withdrawal help says requests are reviewed by hand, usually within hours, or up to 24 hours for larger withdrawals or extra checks. Crypto then needs network confirmation, and banks add their own processing time and business-day limits. If wages or suppliers depend on a specific date, keep a cash buffer.

NOWPayments' terms define bank withdrawal as euros only, and it requires Custody and a USDT-on-TRON balance. Its Integration Guide describes partner business verification, activation and conversion before you can withdraw. We couldn't find the conversion charge, minimum, total transfer cost or arrival time, so you'd need a quote from your account before comparing it with CoinGate's SEPA service.

If you normally receive crypto directly, bank withdrawal also changes who holds your money, because it runs through Custody and a partner.

NOWPayments has USDT; CoinGate's USDC list includes Base

USDT is the clearest currency difference. CoinGate's acceptance list has 12 assets and omits USDT. It lists USDC on seven networks, including Base and Solana; EURC is listed on Ethereum.

NOWPayments' coin list advertises more than 300 cryptocurrencies. It names USDT on TRON, BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Solana and Polygon, and USDC on Ethereum, Polygon and Solana. The tables leave out legacy Omni and the wound-down EURT, following Tether's current protocol information.

AssetNetworks
USDCEthereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Optimism
EURCEthereum
AssetNetworks
USDTTRC20, BSC, ERC20, Solana, Polygon
USDCERC20, Polygon, Solana
DAIERC20
TUSDStandard, TRC20
USDPERC20
BUSDBSC
GUSDERC20
USDDTRC20
PYUSDERC20
USDEERC20

Both list USDC on Solana, but only CoinGate's list names USDC on Base. Before relying on any pair, look at the asset and network in the live payment quote; a coin can work on one network and not another. If Tether is essential to you, compare other providers too.

CoinGate has licences you can check in a regulator's register

The Bank of Lithuania register lists UAB Decentralized, linked to CoinGate, as a payment institution and a crypto-asset service provider, with both licences valid from 16 December 2025. We read that entry directly. It lists both codes without saying which code is which licence.

  • Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCA), Bank of Lithuania; licence No. 2, authorization code LB002323
    LT/EULB002323Seen on register
  • Payment institution, Bank of Lithuania (EMT operations); licence No. 60, authorization code LB002324
    LT/EULB002324Seen on register

The NOWPayments terms we read come from FD Transfers LLC and name no licence, though a registration could exist elsewhere, so ask which company contracts with you and which permission covers your service. A licence wouldn't guarantee approval, payout timing or refunds anyway.

Act quickly on suspended payments and close unused accounts properly

If a payment is unsuccessful or suspended, CoinGate's special terms charge 1% of the amount received per day from the payment date. The charge is waived only if you make a refund claim and provide any requested information within 100 days; after that the fee eats up the amount. On a $200 payment that's $2 a day unless the waiver applies.

Dormant accounts carry a different charge. Under the general terms effective 1 January 2026, an account with 12 months of no customer-initiated transactions and six months of unanswered due-diligence requests is charged 2% of the remaining balance weekly, minimum €10. The terms say fees are calculated without deduction during the first 350 days, and balances below €10 have a special immediate-closure rule. A fee waiver on reactivation is possible but not guaranteed. Older help describes 0.5% monthly instead, and we can't say which would apply to your account.

CoinGate supports full and partial refunds; the buyer supplies a wallet and confirms by email. Its pricing page and fee explanation list €0.25, plus 0.1% when currencies differ. The refunds page's own summary says refunds are free otherwise, which conflicts with its flat-fee FAQ. Until you've seen the fee preview, don't promise customers a free refund.

NOWPayments' refund help says recovering a payment sent on the wrong network, in the wrong asset or below the minimum depends on conditions, with network costs borne by the partner or customer. Once a completed payment reaches your wallet, refunding it is up to you. Its terms allow extra recovery charges, and the 20 business days it mentions is for extracting assets, not for every refund.

Choose by approval, receiving currency and customer habits

Your situationStart withReason and limitation
EU or UK shop wanting euros in a bankCoinGateSupported countries and SEPA bank withdrawals
Approved merchant whose buyers use USDTNOWPaymentsNOWPayments lists USDT; CoinGate doesn't accept it
Business requiring a named licensed processorCoinGateLithuanian register entry, so check it covers your service
US or UAE businessNeither on these public conditionsCoinGate's list omits them and NOWPayments' terms exclude them
Approved merchant wanting crypto in its own wallet and a wider coin rangeNOWPaymentsPays straight to your wallet; you cover network costs and handle the wallet and accounting

If neither fits, our NOWPayments alternatives page compares other options. If your industry is restricted, the guide to high-risk payment options helps you frame what to ask, and you'll need written acceptance of your business. A plugin or account-registration button isn't industry approval.

CoinGate publishes email support for Standard and a dedicated team for Enterprise. NOWPayments advertises 24/7 support on its pricing page. We haven't measured how fast either team responds or resolves problems, so ask who handles a frozen payment outside your working hours.

Move only after approval and a tested checkout

Set the switch date after approval and testing; there's no standard month-long overlap to plan around.

  1. 01

    Get approved and pick where money lands

    Get country and industry acceptance, then settle on a wallet or bank destination, the fees and the settlement schedule. Finish any company checks before you promise a launch date.

  2. 02

    Test checkout and notifications

    Use the provider's sandbox (its test environment) to run paid, underpaid and expired invoices. Make sure each payment notification updates the right order and can't trigger fulfilment twice.

  3. 03

    Explain changed coins to buyers

    Moving to CoinGate means losing USDT, which isn't on its acceptance list. Moving to NOWPayments may add coin and network choices, so tell buyers exactly which network to use and how refunds work.

  4. 04

    Reconcile and close the old account

    Save your order, fee and payout records and keep track of payments and refunds still open. Keep your login until those are done, then withdraw what you can and ask for closure instructions.

Both describe sandboxes: NOWPayments for simulated payments through its API (the interface a custom integration uses), and CoinGate in its API guide. CoinGate also publishes preformatted report exports; whether their fields suit your accounting import is something you'd have to test.

CoinGate's plugin page names WooCommerce, Wix and WHMCS among its examples. NOWPayments lists WooCommerce version 2.0.0, updated in April 2026. Its WHMCS page still names version 1.2, updated in March 2022, compatible up to WHMCS 7.9. We haven't tested either plugin, so check compatibility against your store's current version.

Our processor selection guide has the wider checklist.

NOWPayments vs CoinGate FAQ

Is CoinGate or NOWPayments cheaper?

On the base fee they tie at 1%. NOWPayments charges 1.5% for conversions and some settings, plus network costs. CoinGate adds an unpublished quote margin, and its SWIFT withdrawals have a minimum fee. The real comparison is what the customer sends against what lands in your wallet or bank.

Does CoinGate accept USDT?

Not on the merchant acceptance list we read; CoinGate lists USDC on several networks instead. NOWPayments lists USDT on TRON and other networks, subject to the live quote and business approval.

Can I use NOWPayments from an excluded country?

Don't assume you can. Its terms exclude residents, citizens and people located in certain places, and they're silent on a company with owners there. Getting through registration or installing the plugin doesn't override the restrictions.

Is CoinGate available to US businesses?

The United States was absent from the supported-country page we read on 11 October 2026. CoinGate's terms tie eligibility to that list, so a US business should look elsewhere unless CoinGate says otherwise. Even a listed country still means business verification and approval.

Which has licences I can look up?

CoinGate. The Bank of Lithuania register has an entry for UAB Decentralized covering payment institution and crypto-asset service provider licences. The NOWPayments documents we read name no licence. Check that your own agreement names the same company and covers the service you'll use.

Can NOWPayments pay euros into a bank?

Its documents describe it, with conditions: euros through Custody and a partner, starting from USDT on TRON, after partner verification and activation. We couldn't find the conversion cost, transfer fees, minimum or arrival time, so get those for your account before you plan to pay expenses from it.

How quickly will I receive money?

CoinGate advertises weekly settlement on Standard. Withdrawal review, blockchain confirmation and your bank's own processing add time after that. NOWPayments describes delivery to your wallet after processing, or held funds through Custody. Neither gives you a guaranteed date for money reaching your bank, and compliance checks can hold a payment up.

Which is easier to integrate and leave?

Both have APIs and sandbox documentation. CoinGate publishes report exports, and NOWPayments' WHMCS page names an older version, so check it against your installation. Which one is easier to leave depends on your store, where the money lands and how many payments are still open.

How does CoinGate's daily unsuccessful-payment fee work?

CoinGate charges 1% of the received amount per day on an unsuccessful or suspended payment, counted from the payment date. It's waived only if you claim a refund and provide anything CoinGate asks for within 100 days, and after that the fee consumes the whole amount.
Frequently asked questions

Updates: 14 October 2026: rechecked CoinGate's accepted assets (including Bitcoin Cash) and NOWPayments' standard fees and account discounts. 11 October 2026: corrected the quote-margin and fee details, euro withdrawal conditions, network costs and migration advice, and fixed some dead links. First published 6 October 2026.

Sources

27

Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.

  1. CoinGate pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
  2. CoinGate commercial policy · Checked 2026-10-11
  3. CoinGate supported currencies · Checked 2026-10-14
  4. CoinGate supported countries · Checked 2026-10-11
  5. CoinGate special terms: crypto-assets payment processing · Checked 2026-10-11
  6. CoinGate general terms and conditions · Checked 2026-10-11
  7. CoinGate plugins and integrations · Checked 2026-10-11
  8. CoinGate merchant refunds · Checked 2026-10-11
  9. CoinGate: crypto payment gateway fees explained · Checked 2026-10-11
  10. CoinGate API reference · Checked 2026-10-11
  11. CoinGate help: fees · Checked 2026-10-11
  12. CoinGate help: withdrawal processing time · Checked 2026-10-11
  13. CoinGate help: business verification documents · Checked 2026-10-11
  14. CoinGate help: abandoned account fee · Checked 2026-10-11
  15. Bank of Lithuania register: UAB Decentralized · Checked 2026-10-11
  16. NOWPayments dedicated fee answer · Checked 2026-10-11
  17. NOWPayments help centre: Fees · Checked 2026-10-14
  18. NOWPayments Integration Guide · Checked 2026-10-14
  19. NOWPayments Custody and Mass Payouts · Checked 2026-10-11
  20. NOWPayments pricing · Checked 2026-10-14
  21. NOWPayments terms of service (FD Transfers LLC) · Checked 2026-10-11
  22. NOWPayments supported coins · Checked 2026-10-11
  23. NOWPayments refund policy · Checked 2026-10-11
  24. NOWPayments API sandbox help · Checked 2026-10-11
  25. NOWPayments WooCommerce plugin · Checked 2026-10-11
  26. NOWPayments WHMCS plugin · Checked 2026-10-11
  27. Tether supported protocols · Checked 2026-10-11