NOWPayments vs CoinPayments 2026: Fees and Who Should Pick Which
Choose NOWPayments if you're eligible, want payments sent to your wallet and like its wider advertised coin choice. Consider CoinPayments if you want a hosted balance and batched withdrawals, once it confirms your platform and price. On $10,000 of sales, NOWPayments' standard fees come to $100 or $150; CoinPayments' V2 model starts at $50 for coins or $100 for tokens. Extras change the total. Check your country first: NOWPayments excludes many, and CoinPayments' EU licensing claim conflicts with its own service-stop FAQ. Neither guarantees approval.
How you receive the money matters as much as the percentage. The figures below are processing fees only, except where an example adds made-up network costs. Conversion quotes, bank charges and account or exceptional fees are left out, and a cost we couldn't find isn't zero.
We read the providers' own pages and documents on 11 October 2026: fee answers, terms, product pages, developer guidance and plugin listings. We haven't opened an account or made a payment. The examples are hypothetical, with our own calculations.
Which should you pick, NOWPayments or CoinPayments?
Approval comes first for both. After that, follow the money from the customer's payment to the wallet or bank account you'll spend from, because a lower rate can leave you with more transfers, more waiting or another conversion to arrange.

NOWPayments suits an eligible merchant who wants crypto sent to a wallet and a wide choice of customer coins. Its standard fee is 1% or 1.5%, before network costs. The main drawbacks are country exclusions, conflicting fee guidance and a bank payout that comes with conditions and no confirmed total cost.
- Eligible merchants receiving crypto in their own wallet
- Stores whose buyers use varied coins
- Shops weighing direct receipts against optional Custody
- People affected by its country exclusions
- Shops relying on a guaranteed bank-arrival date
- Businesses that need a named, verified licence before choosing

CoinPayments can suit a merchant who wants a hosted balance and fewer outward transfers through batching. V2's lowest coin rate looks cheaper on fees alone. Your regional platform, contract and price come first, because another page says 3%, EU documents conflict, and we haven't matched its licensing claim to any permissions.
- Approved merchants wanting a wallet and checkout together
- Stores able to wait for batched withdrawals
- Businesses with a confirmed price for their regional platform
- EU or EEA applicants until service there is confirmed
- Stores assuming an older plugin supports their new account
- Merchants counting on a bank payout with no quoted price
These bars score published evidence. A country restriction or your own account quote overrides them.


NOWPayments | CoinPayments | |
|---|---|---|
| Score | 63/100 · #8 | 53/100 · #13 |
| Payment fee | 1% | from 0.5% |
| Cost on $10k/month | $100 | $50.00 |
| Pays out to bank | EUR | Not stated |
| Stablecoin networks | USDT: TRC20, BSC, ERC20, Solana, Polygon · USDC: ERC20, Polygon, Solana · DAI: ERC20 · TUSD: Standard, TRC20 · USDP: ERC20 · BUSD: BSC · GUSD: ERC20 · USDD: TRC20 · PYUSD: ERC20 · USDE: ERC20 | USDT: ERC20, BEP20, TRC20, Arbitrum, Polygon, Solana · USDC: ERC20, BEP20, Base, Arbitrum, Polygon, Solana · DAI: ERC20 · TUSD: ERC20, TRC20 |
| Coins | 300 | 40 |
| Custody | Custodial or non-custodial | Custodial |
| Merchant KYC | Not stated | Required |
| Rolling reserve | Not stated | Not stated |
| Licence | Not stated | Unspecified EU licensing claim on the separate /home page; root does not repeat that heading. Entity, regulator, number, permissions and EU/EEA service restart unconfirmed. |
| Plugins | WooCommerce, WooCommerce (CoderPress WordPress.org package), WHMCS | WooCommerce, WHMCS |
| Legal entity country | Not stated | Not stated |
| Founded | 2019 | 2013 |
Our NOWPayments review and CoinPayments review go deeper, and the NOWPayments fee guide and CoinPayments fee guide itemise the extra charges.
Which can your company use?
NOWPayments' terms exclude EU, UK, US and UAE residents or citizens, plus people located in or resident in Russia. It isn't clear how that applies to a company, and a business address elsewhere doesn't remove a personal exclusion.[3]
CoinPayments' FAQ says EU/EEA service couldn't continue after 1 July 2026 and gives no confirmed restart.[4] Its business landing page advertises EU-licensed payments and names Polish Neutron Ventures alongside PaidInSatoshi and Centauri.[5] We haven't matched that claim to a licence or confirmed that service has resumed for your account.
| Where you're based | NOWPayments | CoinPayments |
|---|---|---|
| EU | Excludes residents and citizens | The homepage and the FAQ's stop notice conflict |
| EEA outside the EU | Depends on the country and the owners' details | Covered by the same EU/EEA notice, still unclear |
| UK, US or UAE | Excludes residents and citizens | Not on its restricted list, but that isn't approval |
| Russia | Excludes people located or resident there | Listed as restricted |
| Elsewhere | Country, owners and activity need approval | Regional platform, entity and activity need confirming |
CoinPayments' legal page lists restricted jurisdictions and lets its service providers restrict others.[6] Its instance guide says the country where you register your business determines the platform and contracting entity, but we haven't pinned down which account agreement would apply to you.[7] This is general information, not legal advice.
Tell each provider's sales team your real registration country, owners and activity, and ask which regional platform, contracting entity and agreement you'd be on. NOWPayments should also say whether its exclusions cover the people who'd use the account, and EU or EEA applicants should ask CoinPayments to explain its conflicting public notices.
How much do NOWPayments and CoinPayments charge?
For same-coin payments, NOWPayments publishes 1% and CoinPayments publishes from 0.5% for coins or 1% for tokens. A lower headline rate still isn't the whole bill.
The NOWPayments fee article we read on 14 October consistently gives 1% without exchange and 1.5% for conversion, fixed rate or fee-paid-by-user. Identity and business approvals can together lower same-coin fees to 0.5%.[9] The Integration Guide still says 1% for fixed rate.[10] Our comparison uses the standard rates until you have your own quote.
CoinPayments' V2 page lists coins from 0.5% and tokens at 1%, with network costs on forwarding.[11] The other fee page still says 3%.[12] We use V2 for the comparison. Its FAQ describes a different signup and verification process and never says every new merchant has to go through V2.
The calculator uses NOWPayments' same-coin rate and CoinPayments' lowest V2 coin rate, alongside CoinGate's Standard fee of 1% and BitPay's 2% plus 25 cents below $500,000 monthly.[19][21]
CoinPaymentsLowest estimate$50$50 0.50%Confirm rate
NOWPayments$100$100 1.00%
CoinGate$100$100 1.00%
BitPay$225$225 2.25%
Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.
CoinGate adds a risk margin to payment quotes and doesn't put a number on it.[20] BitPay requires a non-refundable application fee with no listed price, even on denial or withdrawal.[22] Neither is in the calculator. BitPay supports US and Canadian applications but has paused new EEA, UK and Australian onboarding.[23]
| Cost | NOWPayments | CoinPayments |
|---|---|---|
| Conversion | Converted payment at 1.5%; swapping a Custody balance costs 0.5% | Partner conversion and network fees, with no universal percentage |
| Crypto payout | Service fee 0%; one network charge per external payout | Wallet withdrawal service fee 0%, plus the network charge |
| Bank withdrawal | EUR payout with conditions; the total needs a quote | Partner availability and full terms aren't confirmed |
| Volume pricing | Custom offer, not an automatic discount | Supported-coins page invites a volume quote |
| Account or exceptional charges | Refunds and faster extraction can cost extra | Dormancy, refund and recovery charges depend on the agreement |
NOWPayments' payout help states no service fee and one network fee per external payout.[16] The 0.5% Custody swap price is a different thing from the account discount above, and a customer's converted payment still costs 1.5%.
Who pays network costs, and what does a month cost?
Count the transfers: your order count and how often you forward funds drive the network bill, because a network fee isn't a fixed share of your sales.
With NOWPayments' direct-wallet flow, the buyer pays the sending fee and you have two deductions, one for processing and one for payout. Custody has one deduction on deposit and another charge when you withdraw. CoinPayments' invoice docs require buyers to cover the requested crypto and required fees,[17] and its settings guide assigns one outbound fee per batch to the merchant.[18] Neither says who pays on every other transfer.
NOWPayments' minimum-payment help says the minimum depends on the coin pair and whether fixed rate is selected.[26] Ask for the live minimum for your checkout before you offer a $10 item, since a cheap transfer is no help if the payment can't be created.
How and when do you get paid?
NOWPayments sends crypto to your wallet by default, while CoinPayments offers a hosted balance and forwarding settings. Work out how much working cash you can leave waiting before you choose a schedule.
Custody means leaving crypto with a provider until you withdraw, and NOWPayments' terms describe it as a third-party service. With CoinPayments, To Balance postpones the outward transfer, ASAP forwards each payment and batch settings combine them. Fewer transfers mean waiting longer.
Banking is a different decision. NOWPayments' terms define a EUR-only withdrawal that requires Custody and a USDT-on-TRON starting balance, and they allow partner business checks. Other assets have to be converted at a commission shown in your account, and the currencies customers can pay in aren't the currencies a bank payout covers. We couldn't confirm availability, the bank network, the minimum, the full cost or the arrival time.
CoinPayments' FAQ puts its wallet withdrawal minimum at generally twice the network fee; that's a wallet minimum, not a bank one. We couldn't find a complete public list of currencies, fees or timing for its partner bank route. A credited crypto balance at either provider isn't money in your bank by payroll day.
If a bank payout is essential, ask the provider to walk you through how a typical order becomes a bank credit: the amount sent, every deduction, any conversion and the date it expects the bank to receive the funds. Our processor selection guide helps you compare where the money ends up.
Which coins and networks suit your customers?
Choose by what your buyers hold, not by the biggest catalogue. NOWPayments advertises more than 300 cryptocurrencies. CoinPayments' supported-coins page says 40+, while its business landing page advertises 100+. The supported-coins page also offers volume quotes without publishing bands.[15] A marketing total says nothing about what's available for your account.
NOWPayments' supported-coins page lists USDT on TRON, Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana and Polygon, and USDC on Ethereum, Polygon and Solana.[24] We left out legacy Omni and the wound-down EURT, following Tether's current information.[25] A published listing isn't a live availability check, so confirm the pairs you need.
CoinPayments' V2 table lists USDT on Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, TRON, Arbitrum, Polygon and Solana, and USDC on those networks with Base replacing TRON.[13] The buyer's network and your receiving network both matter, along with any conversion between them, and a payment sent on the wrong chain can become a recovery case.
Which is easier to integrate and get help from?
CoinPayments' older directory listing doesn't describe its whole offer, so look at the current shop modules. NOWPayments' own page shows version 2.0.0, updated 30 April 2026 and labelled for WooCommerce up to 10.7.[27] CoinPayments' older WordPress package lists 1.0.18, tested through WordPress 6.2.14, with a compatibility warning. Its current module is a different one and requires WooCommerce 6.0+ and PHP 8.1+; CoinPayments reports its own checkout and payment-reconciliation tests.[14] We haven't installed either, so your developer should check the account platform, order amounts and final payment status before anything ships.
Give your developer the approved account details, including the regional platform, before asking for a quote. Switching providers may also mean rebuilding how payments reach your order records, not just swapping the plugin.
Neither provider is a clear winner on support. NOWPayments' help hub has an email contact,[2] and CoinPayments sends requests through different new and legacy support paths.[1] CoinPayments advertises 24/7 support, but we haven't tested response or escalation speed. Ask who handles a stuck payout, how to reach them outside office hours and when you'd get the next update.
Who wins for your use case?
The winner depends on your setup. Eligibility and your final quote come before any price advantage, which isn't firm yet.
| Your situation | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Approved shop receiving varied coins in a wallet | NOWPayments | Wide advertised choice and default wallet receipts |
| Approved business that wants the lowest Bitcoin fee | CoinPayments, if the quote holds | Its V2 coin rate is lower, but the other price page still conflicts |
| Stablecoin shop with many small orders | Compare both withdrawal plans | Token and same-coin rates tie at 1%, so the number of transfers can decide the bill |
| EU or EEA applicant | Settle eligibility first, then compare alternatives | NOWPayments excludes EU residents and citizens, and CoinPayments' documents conflict |
| WooCommerce shop changing provider | Compare both current modules | CoinPayments has a newer module of its own, so check your own shop and account platform |
If you're in the US, UK or UAE, don't assume CoinPayments is open to you just because NOWPayments excludes you. Our NOWPayments alternatives and CoinPayments alternatives list other options.
How do you move from one to the other?
Get the new account approved first, then move checkout in stages, as long as both providers can lawfully serve you. Neither provider promises a fixed month of overlap, so your open cases set the timetable.
- 01
Confirm eligibility and price
Find out which platform, contract and total charges apply, and whether your country and activity are approved.
- 02
Keep records
Save order and payment references, fees, networks, balances, open invoices, withdrawals and refund cases.
- 03
Check the replacement checkout
Try successful, partial, late and expired payments, repeated notifications and refunds.
- 04
Move and reconcile
Move new orders, keep handling old invoices, and claim or withdraw every remaining balance before you close the old account.
From NOWPayments to CoinPayments. Plan the hosted balance and forwarding schedule before changing checkout. CoinPayments' migration guide covers new credentials, wallet setup and payment notifications for its newer API.[32] Your developer needs to match each payment to your own order record and make repeated notifications harmless, so one payment can't trigger two shipments.
From CoinPayments to NOWPayments. Eligibility comes first, then the choice between your wallet and Custody. With wallet receipts, someone on your team handles withdrawals, conversion and the books. The old payment instructions should stay live for invoices already issued, because customers will still pay where they were first told to.
NOWPayments' help says a completed wallet receipt is refunded from your wallet.[29] If you ask the provider to recover a payment, extra costs can apply, and its 20-business-day extraction clause isn't a refund deadline for every case. Before you send a refund, check the order record for any return the provider or your team already made, so a support chat and a wallet transfer don't refund the same customer twice.
CoinPayments' PaidInSatoshi agreement charges 5.5% per qualifying 12 months without a transaction, and logging in doesn't count. Centauri's agreement uses unclaimed-property rules and permitted deductions instead, with no fixed 5.5% clause.[30][31] We don't know which contract would apply to you.
Both agreements require claims for incomplete payments and overages within 90 days, with funds still controlled and a minimum twice the network fee, and deductions are possible. The docs use a different one-fee floor for overpaid excess. Manual recovery costs 8% and has conditions: contact within 90 days, with unsupported assets excluded and small amounts potentially declined. Closed balances must be claimed and removed within 30 days, and later recovery can carry an 8% charge, depending on the case.
NOWPayments vs CoinPayments FAQ
Is NOWPayments or CoinPayments cheaper?
Can I use NOWPayments in the EU, UK or US?
Is CoinPayments available in the EU again?
Is either provider licensed?
Does either pay out to a bank?
Does NOWPayments' 0.5% fee still apply?
Which is better for WooCommerce?
Who holds my money?
Can I run both while switching?
Change log: 14 October 2026, rechecked the NOWPayments fee schedule and the approval-based discounts; the fixed-rate guidance still conflicts. 11 October 2026, rechecked CoinPayments V2 pairs and its current SDK module, the NOWPayments legacy-asset wording, eligibility and licence wording, fee conflicts, bank and contract terms and plugin details, and fixed the network examples and broken links. 6 October 2026, first published.
Sources
32
Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.
- CoinPayments support wizard · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments support hub · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments terms, updated 31 August 2026 · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments FAQ · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments homepage: EU claim and entities · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments legal index · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments regional platform instances · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments dedicated fee answer · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments Fees article · Checked 2026-10-14
- NOWPayments Integration Guide · Checked 2026-10-14
- CoinPayments V2 fees · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments other fee page · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments V2 published asset and network rows · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments current SDK WooCommerce module · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments supported-coins page · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments Custody and Mass Payouts · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments invoice payment errors · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments payment settings and batching · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate Commercial Policy · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay merchant terms · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay merchant onboarding countries · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments supported coins · Checked 2026-10-11
- Tether supported and deprecated protocols · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments minimum-payment help · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments WooCommerce plugin · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments WooCommerce listing · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments refund policy · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments PaidInSatoshi agreement · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments Centauri agreement · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments API migration guide · Checked 2026-10-11
