CoinPayments Fees (2026): Which Price Applies?
CoinPayments can be inexpensive, but its own pages disagree on the price. The V2 fee page lists coins from 0.5% and tokens at 1%, while another fee page still says 3%. On $10,000 of sales, that's $50, $100 or $300 in processing fees, before network and conversion costs. Volume pricing needs a quote. The agreements also set refund and recovery conditions, and one has a 5.5% dormancy charge. The lower headline is worth comparing, but it isn't a complete monthly bill.
We read CoinPayments' public fee pages, FAQ, developer guides and both linked User Agreements on 11 October 2026, along with the relevant CoinGate, NOWPayments and BitPay sources. We didn't open accounts or make payments. The dollar examples are our own sums from published rates, and the network amounts we add are hypothetical.
How much does CoinPayments charge per payment?
Its V2 page lists coins from 0.5% and tokens at 1%, but another fee page still lists 3%, and a third asks you to contact sales for volume pricing. That's three public answers to one budget question.
| Page | What it says | What it means for your budget |
|---|---|---|
| /help-fees | Coins from 3%; tokens 3%; forwarding adds network fees[3] | Use $300 per $10,000 as a comparison scenario, not a maximum possible bill |
| /v2-fees | Coins from 0.5%; tokens 1%; forwarding adds network fees[4] | $50 or $100 per $10,000 before other charges |
| /supported-coins | Monthly volume can earn a custom rate; no percentage bands in the public text[5] | Only your own quote settles it |
The FAQ describes the new platform as independent, with a fresh signup and identity verification, and says existing legacy balances can still be managed during the transition. It doesn't require every new merchant to use V2.[6] Our calculator uses V2 as a comparison choice of our own.
Your quote should settle it. Before you build the checkout, ask for a fee schedule that names your platform, the coins and tokens your customers will use, your forwarding method and any conversion you need to get paid in your own currency.
Every CoinPayments fee in one table
The contract rows come from the two User Agreements, whose Sections 3, 6 and 9 carry the important conditions.[8][9]
| Charge | Published amount | Scope and limits |
|---|---|---|
| V2 coin processing | Starting at 0.5% | A floor, not a guarantee for your account |
| V2 token processing | 1% | Its own rate, not the coin headline |
| Other fee page | Coins from 3%; tokens 3% | Unclear which platform it applies to |
| Volume discount | Quote required | No public bands confirmed |
| Fixed processing fee | None listed | Network charges come on top |
| To Balance | Percentage fee | Held in your CoinPayments wallet; later withdrawal still costs network fees |
| ASAP forwarding | Percentage plus network fee per payment | Each payment is sent onward on its own |
| Nightly forwarding | Percentage plus network fee per batch | One outbound batch fee, not one per order |
| Personal-wallet deposits | First $15,000/month free; then 0.5% on V2 or 3% on /help-fees | Personal deposits only. Conversions excluded. Volume resets on the first of each month |
| Crypto conversion | Partner fee plus network fee | No universal percentage or exchange-rate margin published |
| Wallet withdrawal | No CoinPayments service fee; network fee applies | Amount varies by currency and traffic. Minimum is generally twice that fee |
| Bank payout | No complete public tariff confirmed | Partner service and availability conditions apply |
| Monthly or setup fee | None found in the sources we read | That isn't a contractual promise of zero cost |
| High-risk pricing | Higher fees possible, amount unknown | Depends on approval and your quote |
| Dormancy: PaidInSatoshi agreement | 5.5% per 12 months of inactivity | Per dormant account. Logging in doesn't count as a transaction |
| Dormancy: Centauri agreement | No fixed percentage in Section 3.2 | Unclaimed-property rules apply, and lawful dormancy or administration deductions are possible |
| Incomplete or overpaid payment refund | Costs, network and third-party charges may be deducted | Claim within 90 days. Contract minimum is twice the network fee. Funds must still be recoverable |
| Manual recovery | 8% of the crypto | Only if recoverable. Contact within 90 days. Small amounts may be declined |
| Unclaimed balance after closure | 8% recovery or return fee, with conditions | Claim and remove within 30 days. Small amounts may be declined |
| Chargeback on a finished crypto payment | No card-style reversal | Doesn't remove your shop's responsibility for returns |
| Rejected or unclaimed outgoing send | Standard fees apply | Return depends on the funds coming back, and there's no flat tariff of its own |
| Unpaid amounts | Interest: the greater of 18% a year or the legal maximum. Collection: the lesser of 18% or the legal maximum | Collection fee only if a third party is engaged |
| Fee changes | Apply to later transactions from the effective posting or schedule date | Your account's current schedule is the one that counts |
What does a $10,000 month cost on CoinPayments?
Processing alone is $50 at 0.5%, $100 at 1% or $300 at 3%. The all-in total isn't public, because your network, conversion and bank costs change it. The calculator below leaves those out for every provider, along with application fees and exceptional charges, and an unknown amount isn't zero.
It sets the V2 coin floor against CoinGate's 1%, NOWPayments' same-currency 1% and BitPay's 2% plus 25 cents under $500,000 a month.[15][22][20] Move the sliders to your own sales and usual order size.
CoinPaymentsLowest estimate$50$50 0.50%Confirm rate
CoinGate$100$100 1.00%
NOWPayments$100$100 1.00%
BitPay$225$225 2.25%
Published rate estimates only. Provider minimums, network, conversion, bank and account charges may be extra.
For 100 orders of $100, the rivals come to $100, $100 and $225. CoinPayments' token rate ties the two 1% models.
A small shop, line by line
A larger store, and the gap that opens up
Do small orders cost more on CoinPayments?
CoinPayments lists no fixed processing charge, so the percentage stays the same as the basket shrinks. A network charge can take a much bigger bite from a small order, though. BitPay's flat 25 cents explains its rising curve below, and all these lines leave out network and conversion costs.
For illustration, suppose your forwarding method added $2.50 per payment to a 1% token fee. That's an invented network cost, not a current quote for any coin or platform.
| Order size | Processing at 1% | Assumed network cost | Combined cost | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $20 | $0.20 | $2.50 | $2.70 | 13.5% |
| $50 | $0.50 | $2.50 | $3.00 | 6.0% |
| $100 | $1.00 | $2.50 | $3.50 | 3.5% |
| $500 | $5.00 | $2.50 | $7.50 | 1.5% |
Spread that same hypothetical $2.50 across 20 payments in one batch and it's 12.5 cents per payment. CoinPayments' payment-settings guide says the merchant pays an outbound network fee once per batch. Batching trades a wait for fewer transfers.[12]
CoinPayments' Fees API gives the current network fee for withdrawals and sends, so it isn't a fixed dollar tariff.[11] Check the current fee for your currency and platform before choosing a schedule.
Which CoinPayments charges are easy to miss?
Conversion, wallet handling and account deadlines can erase a modest headline saving.
Converting every sale. A spread can sit inside the conversion rate as well as a named fee. CoinPayments lists a partner conversion fee plus network cost but no universal percentage. Ask how much of a sample payment reaches your chosen currency, after all deductions.
Gathering funds from different addresses. If your developer uses permanent customer deposit addresses, the integration guide says withdrawing can incur extra fees to gather the balances. A standard invoice flow and a custom deposit system may therefore have different bills.[13]
Getting regular money into the bank. CoinPayments' homepage describes bank payout where supported and says partner services depend on availability, fees and jurisdiction. Its wallet's zero service fee doesn't price the bank leg.[1] Ask for the partner, currency, minimum and total charge before relying on it to pay suppliers.
If you leave balances behind, note that the legal index links two agreements with different dormancy clauses.[7]
The PaidInSatoshi agreement's Section 3.2 defines dormancy after 12 consecutive months without a transaction and charges 5.5% for each such period, per dormant account. Logging in doesn't reset it. The Centauri agreement's Section 3.2 instead covers unclaimed property under the relevant state law and possible permitted deductions, and gives no fixed 5.5% charge.[8][9] We can't tell which contract would cover your shop. This is general information, not legal advice.
Closing the account. Both agreements require you to claim and remove the balance within 30 days of closure. After that, an 8% recovery or return charge applies if its conditions are met, and recovery isn't guaranteed. Returning a closing balance can also deduct outstanding amounts and network and third-party charges.
Owing fees. Both Section 3.3 clauses set interest at the greater of 18% a year or the legal maximum, which is unusual wording, and the third-party collection charge at the lesser figure.[9] We read these contract details on 11 October 2026.
What happens if a customer pays too much, too little or too late?
A problem payment can mean a smaller refund, so tell customers the amount and deadline before they send money. CoinPayments' docs say the buyer must cover the requested crypto amount and required network fees, and the displayed fiat equivalent excludes the network fee. Overpayment refunds cover the excess minus the chain fee, and there's no refund if the excess is smaller than that fee.[10]
The checkout quote lasts 60 minutes. The timeout guide says funds confirmed after expiry enter the refund flow, even if the buyer sent them before the timer ended.[14] That makes a last-minute transfer a customer-service problem as well as a cost.
Both agreements' Section 6.2 add contractual limits: refund claims within 90 days of receiving the funds, an amount at least twice the network fee, and funds still within the provider's control. Costs and third-party charges may also be deducted.[8] The docs' one-network-fee excess rule and the contract's twice-fee requirement differ, so ask which applies to your claim.
For a wrong wallet, chain or missing destination tag, Section 6.3 permits an 8% manual recovery fee if recovery is possible. Contact must be within 90 days, unsupported currencies won't be recovered and small amounts may be declined. On a recoverable $2,000 transfer, 8% is $160, and recovery isn't guaranteed.
How do CoinPayments' fees compare with rivals?
CoinPayments' V2 coin floor is lower on processing alone, but the cheapest complete setup depends on costs these headline figures leave out. The table doesn't tell you whether you'd be eligible or what a full payout would cost.
CoinPayments | CoinGate | NOWPayments | BitPay | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 53/100 · #13 | 81/100 · #1 | 63/100 · #8 | 73/100 · #3 |
| Payment fee | from 0.5% | 1% | 1% | 2% + $0.25 |
| Cost on $10k/month | $50.00 | $100 | $100 | $225 |
| Pays out to bank | Not stated | EUR, GBP, USD | EUR | AUD, CAD, CHF, EUR, GBP, MXN, NZD, USD |
| Stablecoin networks | USDT: ERC20, BEP20, TRC20, Arbitrum, Polygon, Solana · USDC: ERC20, BEP20, Base, Arbitrum, Polygon, Solana · DAI: ERC20 · TUSD: ERC20, TRC20 | USDC: Ethereum, BNB Smart Chain, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Optimism · EURC: Ethereum | USDT: TRC20, BSC, ERC20, Solana, Polygon · USDC: ERC20, Polygon, Solana · DAI: ERC20 · TUSD: Standard, TRC20 · USDP: ERC20 · BUSD: BSC · GUSD: ERC20 · USDD: TRC20 · PYUSD: ERC20 · USDE: ERC20 | USDC: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Base, Solana · USDT: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Solana · PYUSD: Ethereum · GUSD: Ethereum · USDP: Ethereum · EURC: Ethereum · BUSD: Ethereum, Polygon |
| Coins | 40 | 12 | 300 | 19 |
| Custody | Custodial | Custodial | Custodial or non-custodial | Custodial |
| Merchant KYC | Required | Required | Not stated | Required |
| Rolling reserve | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Licence | Unspecified EU licensing claim on the separate /home page; root does not repeat that heading. Entity, regulator, number, permissions and EU/EEA service restart unconfirmed. | Crypto-Asset Service Provider (MiCA), Bank of Lithuania; licence No. 2, authorization code LB002323 (LB002323); Payment institution, Bank of Lithuania (EMT operations); licence No. 60, authorization code LB002324 (LB002324) | Not stated | Money transmitter (NMLS ID) (1496848); Virtual Currency Business Activity licence (NYDFS) |
| Plugins | WooCommerce, WHMCS | WooCommerce, Wix, Magento 2, WHMCS, OpenCart, PrestaShop | WooCommerce, WooCommerce (CoderPress WordPress.org package), WHMCS | WooCommerce, Shopify, Magento 2, WHMCS, Wix, BigCommerce |
| Legal entity country | Not stated | Lithuania | Not stated | United States |
| Founded | 2013 | 2014 | 2019 | 2011 |
CoinGate: its 1% leaves out an unpublished risk margin that its commercial policy adds to payment quotes without giving a size.[16] Its pricing page labels withdrawals of crypto and SEPA to your own wallet or account free, with a EUR 50 minimum, but it's unclear whether crypto transfer costs are included. SWIFT is 0.50% with a minimum fee of EUR 50. Its fee breakdown covers those differences.
CoinGate also has account deadlines. Under Section 23, dormancy needs both 12 months without customer-initiated transactions and six months without answers to due-diligence requests. The charge is 2% weekly, minimum EUR 10, with no deduction during the first 350 days, and CoinGate may waive it on reactivation. Further claim provisions apply, with an immediate-deduction exception for dormant balances below EUR 10.[17] Its help article still gives a conflicting 0.5% monthly tariff.[19] For unsuccessful or suspended payments, the terms add 1% daily, waived if the refund is claimed and requested information supplied within 100 days.[18] We read these clauses on 11 October 2026.
NOWPayments: we use its published 1% for same-currency payments and 1.5% for conversion, fixed-rate or fee-paid-by-user payments. The same Fees article still repeats 0.5% and 1% in its walkthrough,[23] and the Integration Guide says 1% for fixed-rate payments.[24] NOWPayments' fee guide explains the contradictions, so check your own settings and tariff. Standard crypto payouts have no service fee, but there's one network fee per external payout.[25] Bank withdrawals go through a partner and come with conditions: you need Custody and a USDT-on-TRON starting balance, and other balances need conversion with its commission.[26] We couldn't find the total bank cost.
BitPay: its 25 cents makes small baskets more expensive. On Bitcoin invoices, the customer also pays BitPay's Network Cost, which BitPay omits when the estimate is below both one cent and 0.05% of the invoice.[21] Our BitPay fee guide covers bank payout and refund costs.
How can you pay less on CoinPayments?
Start with a rate you've confirmed, then cut avoidable transfers and mistakes. A lower processing percentage helps only if the rest of your setup is economical.
- Ask sales for your coin and token prices. Give monthly volume and typical order size, and request any discount bands and high-risk surcharge.
- Compare forwarding schedules. Nightly batching means fewer outbound transfers than ASAP. To Balance delays the transfer; it doesn't remove the eventual network cost.
- Compare networks. Use a current quote for the asset and network your buyers hold. A lower headline coin fee can lose its advantage if conversion is needed.
- Don't leave balances idle. Check which agreement covers yours and withdraw funds you no longer need.
- Make payment instructions clear. Name the network and any destination tag. Better instructions cost less than a recovery request.
Our processor selection guide helps you compare countries, currencies and bank needs before you choose.
Which CoinPayments price should you plan around?
Until you have an offer, plan around 0.5% for coins and 1% for tokens, with 3% as the other published scenario. None is a worst-case total. Add quoted network and conversion costs, then any bank charges, to see what reaches you.
On EU availability, the FAQ still says service ended after 1 July 2026, with no confirmed restart.[6] The business landing page advertises EU licensing, but the entity, permissions and resumed service aren't confirmed.
For safety, support and eligibility, read our full CoinPayments review. To compare checkout choices, see the best crypto payment gateways and NOWPayments vs CoinPayments. If you're moving an existing shop, our CoinPayments alternatives page covers the practical switch.
CoinPayments fees FAQ
How much does CoinPayments charge per transaction?
Is the CoinPayments fee 0.5%, 1% or 3%?
Does CoinPayments charge a withdrawal fee?
Who pays CoinPayments network fees?
Does CoinPayments have a monthly or setup fee?
What is the CoinPayments dormant account fee?
How much is wrong-network recovery?
Can you negotiate a lower CoinPayments rate?
Are CoinPayments refunds free?
Is CoinPayments cheaper than its rivals?
Change log: 11 October 2026, rechecked the sources and clarified the platform choice, contract-specific charges, who pays network fees and the comparison limits. 5 October 2026, first published.
Sources
26
Numbers in square brackets in the text link to these sources.
- CoinPayments homepage: bank payout disclaimer · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments homepage: conflicting EU availability claim · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments fees page · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments V2 fees · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments supported coins and custom pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments FAQ · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments legal index · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments and PaidInSatoshi User Agreement · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments and Centauri Pay User Agreement · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments payment errors and refunds · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments live network-fee quotes · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments payment settings and batching · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments integration options and consolidation fees · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinPayments payment timeout · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate commercial policy · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate general terms · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate payment-processing terms · Checked 2026-10-11
- CoinGate conflicting abandoned-account help · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay pricing · Checked 2026-10-11
- BitPay Network Cost conditions · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments dedicated fee answer · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments Fees article and internal conflict · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments Integration Guide and fixed-rate conflict · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments crypto payout fees · Checked 2026-10-11
- NOWPayments bank-withdrawal terms · Checked 2026-10-11
